Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for my son's birthday party. It's a great recipe! I only made changes because I couldn't resist, but here's what they were: added a box of instant chocolate pudding, added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, substituted chocolate soy milk for the water, substituted canola oil (only because I didn't have vegetable oil). The batter was poured into a 9x13 glass dish, and took almost 1.5 hours to cook on 350 degrees, with my oven on the convection heating setting. Next time, I may leave the baking powder out and add 1/2 cup of sour cream to make it more moist. I will also investigate adding a heating core (Google Wilton heating core), as I felt it took way to long to cook through the center. My version ended up tasting a little like a brownie. With icing, I felt it was great and the guests at the party did not know the difference. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saloni
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Simple to make, results are really good, I didn't plan on frosting it, so, the sugar in the recipe was less, will adjust accordingly next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My daughter has a bad allergy to eggs, so for her 2nd birthday party, I had to baker her her own batch of cupcakes. I added chocolate chips to the recipe as people suggested and these came out great! Others ate some just to taste the difference and they liked these just as much as the others. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was good! I doing a little party for my daughter's birthday and have a kids that have food allergies. I wanted to make just one batch of cupcakes. This fit the bill! I think the key is using good quality cocoa powder. I halved the recipe and made cupcakes. Very moist and held together pretty well. I added a little peppermint extract for fun and they taste a little like a peppermint paddy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
i too cut the recipe in half and added 1/2 tsp baking powder as suggested by another viewer as well as 1/2 sour cream and it turned out wonderfully..not too sweet, rised beautifully and is scrumptious..made choc sour cream frosting substituting unsweetened cocoa rather than semi sweet choc chips in the frosting. it's a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was ok.. that is all I can say. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My husband and I don't eat eggs and I decided to try this recipe yesterday for dessert. The texture is great and it tastes so yummy - My kids are going crazy over it. Thank you AllRecipes! Wont be baking with eggs anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good moist eggless chocolate cake. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamihdezof2bonitos

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Amazing. I have been searching for years for an eggless cake recipe that wasn't dense and that didn't fall flat or become chewy. A small part in the middle did not bake properly, but that may be my oven. The taste is well-balanced and it is very moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I cut the portion of this recipe way back and made it for 6 rather than 24. I followed the recipe exactly however I added 1 tablespoon of PB2 Chocolate Peanut Butter powder. I made 4 large cupcakes and 7 mini cupcakes. They were WONDERFUL!!! The cupcake bake time was about 40 minutes. Halfway through the baking process I pulled the muffin pan out and dropped a spoonful of peanut butter into the center of one of the cupcakes. HOLY COW!!!! It was the perfect addition to the cupcake. I did not ice or frost them. I am in LOVE with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States