Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I was looking for a Birthday cake recipe that conformed to my Church'es Lenting Fasting Regulations, and this turned out to be a Winner! It's eggless, milkless, cooks great with olive oil for vegetable oil (for those watching their cholesterol), and goes well with a Coffee Icing. I added a little colored icing and some chocolate sprinkles, and had good results. A tablespoon or two of ground hazelnuts in the batter doesn't hurt anything. I would eat this this cake even if it weren't Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Rather disappointing. The cake was rather dry and not as chocolatey as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
We loved this recipe! My son was recently diagnosed as having an egg allergy and we needed an egg-free birthday cake recipe ASAP. The whole family loved it and I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This is a great recipe! I recently hosted a birthday party and one of the guests has life-threatening allergies to eggs and soy (and happens to be a very picky eater, too!). I scaled down the recipe to serve 6, used canola oil and made it into cupcakes. It turned out fabulous, and he ate every bite!! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Great recipe! The cake turned out wonderful and moist with a great flavor! Will definately be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARWEN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This cake is by far the easiest and best cake I've every made and served. Made it with a basic butter-cream chocolate frosting for a birthday party and was swamped with requests for the recipe. Thank you, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
DELICIOUS CHOCOLATE CAKE. CONSISTENCY OF A GATEUX. LOVED BY MY GRANDSON WHO HAS ALLERGIES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
WOW! I can't believe eggless chocolate cake could taste so good, but it does! Hahaha, terrific! I made it for a friend who's vegetarian and so yea, it went great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
My husband, who is allergic to eggs, has done without sweets for most of his life because, as you know, baking without eggs is a challenge. Now, being the good wife that I am (haha), I've been searching the internet and trying different eggless recipes. This is the best chocolate cake recipe we have found thus far. It is true to it's description and is very moist HOWEVER both my husband and I feel there is something lacking in the flavor; it tastes a bit bland. My husband just doesn't feel it is "chocolatey" (is that a word?) enough. Perhaps next time I will add a few semi-sweet chocolate squares to the batter. This recipe is a definite keeper - it just needs a tad bit of something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lyons Brook, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This cake was not as good as I had hoped. I mixed thorougly as the recipe suggested but the cake was tough. Any suggestions on how long is long enough for mixing? It had a nice flavor, not too sweet, so I may experiment with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States