Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe.. I let it stay in the oven for a while and it became pretty hard.. I sprinkled some walnuts on the top and served it with warm milk and it was alright :)Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I honestly expected this cake to come out horrible. Not because of the recipe, but because I didn't have most of the things it called for. But somehow, it still turned out to be not bad at all! I cut the recipe in half since I was low on flour, used butter instead of veg. oil (I was out), light brown sugar instead of white (also out), and left out the vanilla (again...out). I did add an extra 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa, but everything tasted fine. I couldn't believe it. I wouldn't say it was the best cake we ever had, but at 10 at night, using an unreliable dorm room stove and wishy washy ingredients, it more than took care of our chocolate cravings. I'll definitely try it again when I have everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Will definitely add chocolate chips next time, as they came out fine but lacking sweetness. I made up for it last time by using mocha frosting and vegetarian friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
grandaughter who is 2 wanted to make a birthday cake after watching Dora sing the Chocolate song. I had no eggs...found this and WOW. She had a blast while we sang Mix the chocolate choco-latte etc. You Dora watchers know what I mean! LOL Cake was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Awesome! hats off to you .OHH it was nice.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe because I needed to make a cake for my egg-intolerant 1-year-old nephew's birthday. I did a test cake just to check the floavor and was very impressed. I halved the recipe for the test and when I didn't have enough oil, I made up the difference with Hershey's Syrup. Fearing it still wouldn't be chocolatey enough (several other reviews), I melted 1/4 cups of choc chips with a little butter and threw that into the mix. Fabulous...you would never know there aren't eggs. Can't wait to make this for my nephew next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I followed this cake exactly and it was awesome. I can't believe I'm saying it but it was. Dense yet very moist. It's even better out of the fridge or after a couple days. It was so good that I couldn't stop eating it even after a belly ache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Amazing moist cake within minutes :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This cake is so good! It is moist and delicious. My son is allergic to eggs and this cake was perfect for his 1st birthday party. For his 2nd birthday party I'm using the same recipe but making cupcakes instead. There's a lot of batter! I got 38 cupcakes. I read the other reviews and used less sugar, added semi-sweet mini chocolate chips and subbed applesauce for half of the oil. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever made. I didn't have eggs so thought that this recipe would be a substitute for my regular recipe, but this will be my regular one now. I added a cup of chocolate chips and made it in 2 cake pans but other than that I did not change the recipe at all and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy Read

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States