Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Well i needed something sweet but had no eggs.so i thought i would search the site,an came across this recipe an im so glad i did!!! very moist an easy to make yummy! i will be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by momx3pcm
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great cake! My son is allergic to milk, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. He was very eager to have a birthday cake for his fourth birthday with Thomas the train on it. I purchased a picture of Thomas from my local grocery store and put it on the top. In the words of my oldest son," I don't like the cake, I LOVE IT!" The cake was a hit! My son got exactly what he wanted. I did add approx half a cup of Enjoy Life semi -sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love it! However made that changes: instead 1c. oil I added 1/2c applesauce & 1/2c oil, instead 3c water - 2c. reduced fat milk + 1c water, plus I added 3/4c milk chocolate chips. I have small kids that's why I made these changes, so it will be healthier for them and attractive with chocolate chips! Almost forgot to mention: I made muffins out of this batter and a lot of them! Thank you for great eggless recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this last night and was a bit skeptical about it since I've never done a cake like this. I was blown away by the flavor. It was so moist and full of flavor that I doubt I will ever make another boxed cake mix again. My father had a slice with his morning coffee today and had the same opinion as me. His only complaint was that he could taste the cocoa powder, which we both agree would probably be remedied by some frosting, my thinking would be some homemade cream cheese frosting. The next time I make this, I will try using applesauce instead of the oil and see how that tastes, as I know that it is a common subsitute for oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was very good. I have made this twice, both times I halved the recipe. The 1st time I made a 9x13 cake no problems the 2nd time I made 24 cupcakes, but bcse. of not having eggs they did not rise very well, but they were still good. I think for cupcakes I will make as written next time. The cake was enjoyed by all. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
SUPER MOIST, DELICIOUS CAKE, I AM SO EXCITED I FOUND ONE WITHOUT EGGS! WHEW HOO! BUT LIKE ONE OF THE OTHER REVIEWERS SAID, IT SEEMS TO BE MISSING SOMETHING, IT'S BLAND FOR SOME REASON. NEXT TIME I MAKE THIS, I WILL DEFINITELY ADD A CUP OF CHOCOLATE CHIPS, OR MELT CHOCOLATE AND DRIZZLE IT ON TOP ONCE IT COOLS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We have renamed this cake our Snowed In Cake! We made this week as we were snowed in Atlanta yes Atlanta. We all wanted something sweet and had ran out of eggs, I found this and gave it a try it is simply amazing! It taste like a hotess cupcake without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious!! Very nice for someone who is lactose intolerant and loves chocolate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My husband is allergic to eggs. I've found in my quick bread recipes that a tbsp of cornstarch mixed with two tbsps of water works well as an egg substiture. But I never cared for how it worked in cakes, so thought I'd give this one a try. It's okay. I took the advice of others and added some chocolate chips to the batter. Still seems a bit dry to me. I made the chocolate frosting recipe on the back of the Hershey's Cocoa and it helped. Hubby isn't home, so we'll see how he likes it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This cake is a god-send! My 4 year old son has food allergies and this was the first cake I made for him. He LOVES it! He was so happy to be able to eat eggless, nut-free chocolate cake! The cake itself reminds me of a brownie texture but it's still cake-like too. This recipe makes a lot of cake! I can usually get a double layer 10 x 2 round cake, plus enough to make a dozen cupcakes to freeze and two 3 x 1 round layers as well. While it is very chocolately I do find the vanilla scent to be overpowering, but that's because I don't care for vanilla. Now...if I could only find an equivilant in a yellow cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States