Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm sorry but this just wasn't what I was expecting. This is the first eggless cake I have ever made, and I wont be making it again. I baked following the recipe, but it did not have the richness or moisture I was wanting. The center did not completely bake while the edges were burning after one hour in the oven. Perhaps if I had halved the recipe it would have baked better, or if I had done cupcakes, but still the flavour was lacking and I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe was by far the best "eggless" cake recipe that I have tried. I halved the recipe and made 18 cupcakes. I did use 1/2 the amount of oil, and the other half I used applesauce. I added about 7 or 8 chocolate chips to each cupcake before I put them in the oven. My entire family loved these, not just the one who has an egg allergy. Thank you Ginger P. for a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing! I am allergic to eggs, dairy, soy, and wheat, so this cake was perfect. I used rice flour instead of wheat flour and it still came out great, moist and so flavorful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this cake for a coworker's child, who has multiple food allergies. This was his first "real" birthday cake (previously had only had frosted angel food cake), and the family loved it! It came out just a little dry and I found it to be a little too rich (more like dark chocolate vs. milk chocolate flavoring), but overall, a success for the birthday child and his family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This cake was unexpectedly delicious! I don't have egg allergies; I was just simply out of eggs but dying for chocolate cake. It was finished baking at 45 minutes and turned out wonderfully moist. I added a glaze on top which consists of 2 tbsp butter, 1/2c sweetened condensed milk, 2/3c semi-sweet chocolate chips, and 3tbsp corn syrup. It's a lot of cake, though! Next time I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I made this recipe as cupcakes and mini-cupcakes for a party with a little boy who is allergic to eggs- half the recipe made 12 cupcakes and about 18 mini-cupcakes. I added half a bag of semi-sweet mini chocolate chips, and they were so moist- my son and sister and I couldn't stop eating the minis! I'm planning to make some cream cheese frosting to go with these and I'm sure they'll be a hit at the derby party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Most excellent recipe. I made cupcakes out of the batter on a day when we were very low on supplies, ie, no butter, no eggs, no milk. I was totally blown away with the results. I also added chocolate chips and a small amount of vinegar as one reviewer suggested and this worked really well. I shared them with some of the kids at our local school and several of them wanted the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. This recipe will now replace my much more expensive recipe that I have been using for years. We don't have food allergies in our home but we definitely know what tastes good. Something else I noticed was that the ones that got left in the lunch box at school for almost a week were still very edible when they were found. This must be because of the lack of dairy and other ingredients that rot really easily. Kia ora
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added just a *tad* more oil, salt and baking soda than the recipe asked for. I made this for some friends who have kids with allergies, and these were a massive hit! Honestly? Compared to cake made with eggs & dairy, I think the flavour is lacking just a tiny little something. However, it's pretty darn close and about as good as you're likely to get with vegan baking. I made this as cupcakes and they were really, really yummy. The texture was absolutely perfect. Moist, tender and light. I also loved it that all the ingredients were things that I already had - no need to go out and buy a bunch of specialist products. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Well i needed something sweet but had no eggs.so i thought i would search the site,an came across this recipe an im so glad i did!!! very moist an easy to make yummy! i will be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by momx3pcm
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great cake! My son is allergic to milk, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. He was very eager to have a birthday cake for his fourth birthday with Thomas the train on it. I purchased a picture of Thomas from my local grocery store and put it on the top. In the words of my oldest son," I don't like the cake, I LOVE IT!" The cake was a hit! My son got exactly what he wanted. I did add approx half a cup of Enjoy Life semi -sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States