Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good, very moist cake! Great vegan cake - make sure you use oil that wont leave a weird aftertaste......learned my lesson there ;) Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Um... it tasted good, but you can tell it's different from your average cupcake. The texture is a little softer. I did add the chocolate chips, but I don't think it was absolutely necessary. Get a good frosting on there and you won't notice the cake is a little different. I also added a tsp of instant espresso powder but not sure if that really added anything. Good if you have an egg allergy; if not, stick with a traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I'm new to the world of eggless baking, and most of the recipes I've tried haven't worked out, but this one certainly did! I made it for my boyfriend's roommate (who is allergic to eggs) for his birthday, and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, but added some milk chocolate chips on the advice of other reviewers. This has definitely become a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I make these regularly at our church as we have a couple of egg allergies. They are delicious! My family prefers them to box mixes.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I baked these for my daughter's second birthday. There was a little boy with dairy and egg allergies attending and I wanted him to have something he could eat. These turned out beautifully as cupcakes, the rise was beautiful and the texture was great. I didn't add all the vanilla, only 1tsp and used a strong coffee in place of water. The flavor was delicious and tasted like the conventional devil's food cake recipe I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
The cake rises beautifully, has a lovely texture, and looks wonderful--but it's taste is quite bland. Next time around, I'll probably incorporate other flavors. Update: The chocolate used really affects the taste! Invest in some quality chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This cake was really good. I also cut it in half and used an 8x8 pan, and cut the time to 50 minutes. I added some chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm sorry but this just wasn't what I was expecting. This is the first eggless cake I have ever made, and I wont be making it again. I baked following the recipe, but it did not have the richness or moisture I was wanting. The center did not completely bake while the edges were burning after one hour in the oven. Perhaps if I had halved the recipe it would have baked better, or if I had done cupcakes, but still the flavour was lacking and I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe was by far the best "eggless" cake recipe that I have tried. I halved the recipe and made 18 cupcakes. I did use 1/2 the amount of oil, and the other half I used applesauce. I added about 7 or 8 chocolate chips to each cupcake before I put them in the oven. My entire family loved these, not just the one who has an egg allergy. Thank you Ginger P. for a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing! I am allergic to eggs, dairy, soy, and wheat, so this cake was perfect. I used rice flour instead of wheat flour and it still came out great, moist and so flavorful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States