Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I make chocolate cakes from scratch frequently and this was one of the best even vs egg containing. I followed the recipe but also added 3 oz of melted semisweet baking chocolate to boost the chocolate flavor. Baking in 8" rounds, bake for 35 minutes. In cupcake tins, 22 - 25 minutes, made 36 cupcakes. Topped with chocolate ganache, it was a hit with my daughter who has egg allergies as well as the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This recipe deserves 5 stars. I halved the recipe and made a minor change. Instead of mixing baking soda in the dry ingredients First I kept it aside and when My batter was ready I mixed the baking soda with equal vinegar and quickly folded in the batter and put it in the oven. Cut layers and made a black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made cupcakes... it made 45 cupcakes!!!! baked at 350* for 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My son has an egg allergy and this recipe has been a blessing! I just made this in a bunny-muffins pan for tomorrow (Easter.) I followed the recipe but added a generous cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips (because that's what was left in the bag.) 22 minutes in my electric oven and they're perrfect! I dipped the bunnies in white chocolate and decorated with jelly beans and chocolate twizzlers cut into strips for whiskers (we don't like black licorice.) They kids all love them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We were craving chocolate cake, but had run out of eggs. I found this recipe on AR and it was lovely (even though I screwed up quite a bit). I skipped sifting the flour, cocoa powder and baking soda and just dumped them into the batter (out of sheer laziness)! Also, not having enough oil on hand, I substituted the oil for slightly salted butter (3/4 cup). I altered the order of a wee bit because I always like to beat the butter and sugar until light, add the essence and then add the flour and liquid (water) alternately into the butter mixture. This turned out to be quite a HUGE cake, also because I baked it in a 10" round deep cake tin so I'd suggest baking it for a little more than 1 hour but do watch it carefully to prevent burning! Thanks a lot Ginger for sharing this cake! We didn't find it bland at all ... infact for all the screw ups I made, I thought this was a very forgiving cake! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
too chewy and I think they were really bland. I even added some chocolate chips and that didn't even help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Interesting recipe, could be better. I won't comment on texture or baking time, as I used a round springform, but I had some issues. The cake is slightly bland. I think it could use more salt. I'm not certain about adding more cocoa, but that probably might help as well. I think for the next time I might also use milk instead of water. Again this is a taste issue rather than a texture issue. For this cake I will probably serve the rest with a cocoa whipped cream topping to try to fix the blandness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great for a family that has egg allergies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We have a new member in our family with severe allergies to eggs. Excellent recipe, rises well but you can tell there is something missing. But who cares it's chocolate !!!! and there were NO leftovers. I didn't change a thing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'll give this recipe kudos for moistness - but for taste it rang flat for me. A heads up to people who haven't dealt with egg-less cakes before - it seems a trend to me that the batter will seem much more watery than a traditional cake batter. It also might help with lumps to sift the cocoa powder and flour together. I followed the recipe exactly except for cutting the recipe in half and baking it for 45 minutes. The cake while extremely moist fell apart out of the pan even after letting it cool for 15 minutes. The chocolate flavor is actually a bit bitter and there isn't much depth of flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States