Eggless Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
i tried this recipe for my boyfriend's birthday. it was a complete flop. the center of the cake fell down. i tried it again, the same results. (i was pretty mad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
You MUST use CAKE FLOUR. All purpose has too much gluten, so without the eggs to lift it, it falls, gets mushy, etc. A good cake flour substitute is for every cup of all purpose flour you use, remove 2 tablespoons of it and add two tablespoons of cornstarch. Sift it together, and use in place of the cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
AN EXCELLENT EGGLESS CAKE! THE RECIPE TURNED OUT PERFECT! I TOPPED IT UP WITH SOME ALMONDS AND IT WAS DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This recipe was a flop for me too! It turned out soggy,parts of it were uncooked even though i cooked it long enough and did not rise! Was a complete disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
I made this cake for a friend of my for her baby shower. She is a vegetarian so I had a hard time finding a cake without eggs. The cake was a big hit. If you follow the recipe and cook it long enough (the tester inserted into the center comes out clean) it will turn out great. I used a Butter Cream Icing and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
What is this a joke?? I am trying to make a birthday cake for my son...I tried this first...I added to much butter my fault...so I tried a box mix with a sub for eggs...nope...so I come back and try this one again and put it in the oven at 9:48...it is now dripping over the sides of the pan...lovely burning smell of dripping mess on the bottom of the stove...mmmm I think you need to pull this recepie off of here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This cake came out really good for me, it didn't fall, it stayed very round, didnt burn or drip and was very moist with no funny after taste. It was very delicious and I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
The cake is very tasty. Makes a great substitute for cupcakes when cooking for someone with egg allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
The cake cooked through, unlike some others' experiences, but it tasted terrible. It has a very odd aftertaste, and frosting didn't help mask it. I'm glad I made another batter just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
VERY DISAPPOINTING!!! I doubled this recipe and ended up not eating any of it. I tried making cupcakes and they fell and then I used the remaing batter for a cake only for it to fall too. It was just a big waste of my time and ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States