Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Love these and been making them forever. One trick I found out if you don't want to use the bacon grease is to lightly toast the bread in the toaster. Then they are easier to butter both sides and cut the hole out. Then just coat your pan with a bit of olive oil. Cook over medium about a minute a side and it's done. I'm going to have to try the bacon grease though for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I just made this but instead of bread I used a pancake and omg yummy my dad has made it for me and it's my favorite and I used the shot glass method to make the hole. Make pancake as directed when the bubbles are popped flip over and make your hole and crack egg immediately. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I've been doing this recipe for the last few weeks a couple times a week, and everyone loves it! I add a bit of parmesan cheese on the top side of the egg before flipping it! I suggest you cook it in the highest setting. It will make sure that the bread and egg are cooked from the outside but still soft from the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarine Koftikian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Simple, easy, and does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Lolita Gilkes
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The instructions said to cook this on low heat. My mistake, I started out on medium heat. So as you can see from my picture my egg in a hole is a little too brown. However, I quickly realized my mistake and turned the heat off, then back on, on low. It was a delicious breakfast/brunch and I got in a protein, a carbohydrate and a fruit . I'm very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Gilkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
my late husband taught our daughter to make these 20 years ago. we call the "ol King Coles"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I use mason jar lids to cut the hole. it's the perfect size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Popeye egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madrid, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These are so fun to make. I melt the butter in my skillet and dip both sides of bread in it, then add the egg. Be sure your skillet is hot. I normally do not like runny eggs but can't get enough of them this way. It took me a few tries to get it just right. This is a quick dinner on busy evenings with sausage or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love this recipe my mother served this to us as children. But adding a drizzle of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Kleinsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States