Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My mother used to make these, and I still make them today. We call them "Birds Nests", but as said here before there are many names. The only thing I do different is use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love these! My grandma use to make them for me when I was a tot! She use to call them Nest Eggs. They were always my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Aww, this brings back memories. My friend Brittany and I used to make these all the time as children. It was easy and it was so exciting to us because it was egg in a bread. ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Constantini

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Egg in a hole, egg in a boat...so many different names for this! It's very good. Simple to make too. I turn down the heat after I put the egg in and cover with a lid for a few minutes or untill the white and most of the yolk is cooked. I sometimes scramble the egg before putting it in the hole (kids like it this way)I don't use bacon grease, although I'm very sure that it would be really good that way..Mmmm. I just use butter or margarine. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
My son-in-law made these one night and I have loved them since then. They are easy but you get the egg and toast at the same time. Great for day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My mom fixed this for my dad all the time. I now fix them for my family. We call this Egg in a Frame, served with a side of grits,juice and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I can't believe there's actually a recipe out there for this! My dad used to make this for me as a kid (except the bacon grease part... we just used margarine)- all my friends think I'm crazy when I talk about it. Well, they don't know what they're missing! Great breakfast food- sometimes I even have it for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Pape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
5 stars for being easy and tasty. I toasted the holes along side and used them for mopping up the yolk. Might crack my egg a little sooner next time to ensure completely done whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Hard to believe doing such a simple thing could produce such a great tasting dish. We love these. I use butter instead of the bacon grease. Do toast your buttered "holes" and serve them on top of the egg. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this a few days ago when I was looking for a change for dinner. I used 12 grain bread and used non-fat butter spray on the bread to make it a little healthier for us. We still made the bacon on the side well drained and I sprinkled a little cheddar cheese over it for added flavor. We really enjoyed this and it was a nice change from basic eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States