Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
my advice to people is when I learned this recipe at like 8 years old, I took the bread buttered it both sides, and took a small mouth glass and pressed down to cut the perfect circle (hole) in the middle of the bread, put it on the stove and added the egg to the hole, salt and peppered, flipped and cooked the little cut out circle as well. it never burned. Never even tried bacon, I was too little then lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was breakfast after my muffins tanked. It's always a comforting breakfast (my dad made it for me when I was a kid) but it was made even better with the use of bacon grease. Is there anything bacon can't make better? I don't think so. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent. I'm 50 years old and had never heard of this before. I prepared it for my husband this morning and he loved it. I used a fork to mix the egg a couple times as it cooked so it wasn't as runny. I was a little short on bacon grease so I added a little butter to the grease. I put the extra bread rounds in another skillet, and quickly sauted them in butter with cinnamon/sugar sprinkled on top, flipping them once -- a delicious and easy addition to this already yummy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Egg in a hole, egg in a boat...so many different names for this! It's very good. Simple to make too. I turn down the heat after I put the egg in and cover with a lid for a few minutes or untill the white and most of the yolk is cooked. I sometimes scramble the egg before putting it in the hole (kids like it this way)I don't use bacon grease, although I'm very sure that it would be really good that way..Mmmm. I just use butter or margarine. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
So many names for an old classic. To me it has always been Toad in a Hole. I now use olive oil for the extra flavor. Thanks for reminding me that my snack or quick lunch can be full of protein and very tasty. A little fruit on the side completes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My mother made this for us as kids back in the 1960's. We called it "hole in the middle"....never used bacon grease...only butter. Nice with day or two day old bakery bread...not just white grocery store bread. Seeing this recipe brought back warm, cherished memories from my childhood. Note: use a drinking glass to make the hole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious and easy for breakfast! Great way to combine your eggs and toast together plus it's a nice departure from the usual scrambled egg. I opted out of cooking this in bacon grease and just used a little melted butter. I waited until the egg was cooked and added a slice of cheese. Great with a side of Canadian bacon and OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
5 stars for being easy and tasty. I toasted the holes along side and used them for mopping up the yolk. Might crack my egg a little sooner next time to ensure completely done whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
What we called them sounds more appetizing...Egg in a Basket...don't you think? I always use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
My son-in-law made these one night and I have loved them since then. They are easy but you get the egg and toast at the same time. Great for day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States