Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We call these Pirate's Eyes. Cut hole in plain bread with a small juice glass. Butter bread. Place in pan sprayed with Pam. Drop egg in. Cook until bread is golden brown, and egg is just over easy. (runny yolk). Add maple syrup and eat! Delicious every time, and a kid favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Lynn Kelley
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Nothing is as good as a warm egg with a runny yolk! My tip would be to slightly PRE-toast the bread! It makes it a little firmer and quicker to fry. I ALWAYS pretoast my bread when making french toast. It makes it more firm AND soaks up more of the yummy egg mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Come home late at night, peckish.......this is a nice, quick and easy snack. The bacon fat makes it extra delicious. A bit of pepper and salt. The deed is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I too was a kid when my mom made this for us in the 50's. We called it "An Egypcian Eye Sandwich." We always had to wink through the hole before cooking. I came from an old black and white movie from the 40"s. I'm still searching for that movie -- with no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Always a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I love making this at home. The first time I had them, I was at the Cracker Barrel in Londonderry, NH. You can order them at any Cracker Barrel, even if it isn't on the menu. But it is very nice to be able to have them at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoya Goree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I feel a little left out because I never had these growing up and my first experience seeing it was in the movie Moonstruck, but I made them as stated and they were great. I used a small juice glass and that size seemed to work. I used bacon grease, though I haven't cooked with that before and I thought they were great. I'm sure butter would be just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious recipe I have used for more years than I care to remember. Good as is but I add a dash of worcestershire sauce to the egg. Now, to all you negative people...don't knock it until you try it. Adds a bit of zip, especially for a late evening snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have made this a few times and love it. Instead of using grease, butter or margarine, I lightly spray both sides of the bread with butter flavored cooking spray. There is no chance of it being oily and still has that butter taste to it. May have to try the olive oil cooking spray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I'VE ALWAYS LIKED IT WITH RYE BREAD AND WHEN I WAS SMALL WE CALLED IT POPEYE EGG,WHICH IN TURN WE WOULD FINISH OUR EGGS BECAUSE BREAKFAST WAS MADE FUN. 4 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States