Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a wonderful quick breakfast for the kids....my Nana used butter instead of bacon grease .. mmmmm good. If you make the yoke hard you can let the kids eat it with their fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
My grandfather taught me to make this and he passed away in 1955.It is just as good now as it was then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I have made these for years but I do scramble the eggs for the Grandkids. I am surely going to try them using bacon grease, for the added flavor. Bacon grease only has 4.6 more calories then butter, per teaspoon, so not a dramatic difference. Sometimes we put a slice of tomato on top. This is a much heatlhier recipe at 231 calories, then the "Eggy Doodle" 803 calorie recipe, in last weeks Allrecipes "The Daily Dish". Thank you Allrecipes, for showing us all that there is a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
AKA: One-Eyed Sailor. I've made it for our grandson since he was little; he's almost 18 now. He will certainly agree--5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
As so many have wrote, it's an old favorite. I was taught by an Italian woman and it was called egg in hat. Melt a slice of your favorite cheese on top, any pain you have will vanish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
We cooked this at Girl Scout camp outs. We cooked the egg and bread on the top of a #10 can over a fire we made ourselves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The only comment I have is a little PR, instead of calling it "bacon grease" it sounds better if you say "bacon drippings". It's the same thing, just sounds better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Interesting how we all seem to have different names for this, we called it a hole in one and did it a little differently, cut out the hole(sometimes using cookie cutters for different shapes) buttered both sides and the circle or shape, placed in frying pan, added egg, s&p, fried, flipped, enjoyed! dont forget to fry the bread removed from the centre, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
We call them "Bird in a Nest"! We first saw these when Cher was making them in the movie 'Moonstruck'. We make ours (as they did) with thick sliced Italian bread, buttered on bothe sides. I use real butter to fry them in but I'm sure bacon grease would be just wonderful! I also, as others state, fry the circles to enjoy along side the bird in the nests. Everyone loves these!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Haha i grew up making these myself. Me an my family called it "one eye winky"! I dont know where the name came from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States