Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
My grandfather taught me to make this and he passed away in 1955.It is just as good now as it was then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I have made these for years but I do scramble the eggs for the Grandkids. I am surely going to try them using bacon grease, for the added flavor. Bacon grease only has 4.6 more calories then butter, per teaspoon, so not a dramatic difference. Sometimes we put a slice of tomato on top. This is a much heatlhier recipe at 231 calories, then the "Eggy Doodle" 803 calorie recipe, in last weeks Allrecipes "The Daily Dish". Thank you Allrecipes, for showing us all that there is a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
AKA: One-Eyed Sailor. I've made it for our grandson since he was little; he's almost 18 now. He will certainly agree--5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
As so many have wrote, it's an old favorite. I was taught by an Italian woman and it was called egg in hat. Melt a slice of your favorite cheese on top, any pain you have will vanish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
We cooked this at Girl Scout camp outs. We cooked the egg and bread on the top of a #10 can over a fire we made ourselves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The only comment I have is a little PR, instead of calling it "bacon grease" it sounds better if you say "bacon drippings". It's the same thing, just sounds better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Interesting how we all seem to have different names for this, we called it a hole in one and did it a little differently, cut out the hole(sometimes using cookie cutters for different shapes) buttered both sides and the circle or shape, placed in frying pan, added egg, s&p, fried, flipped, enjoyed! dont forget to fry the bread removed from the centre, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
We call them "Bird in a Nest"! We first saw these when Cher was making them in the movie 'Moonstruck'. We make ours (as they did) with thick sliced Italian bread, buttered on bothe sides. I use real butter to fry them in but I'm sure bacon grease would be just wonderful! I also, as others state, fry the circles to enjoy along side the bird in the nests. Everyone loves these!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Haha i grew up making these myself. Me an my family called it "one eye winky"! I dont know where the name came from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used unsalted butter instead of grease. Easy. Fast. Hot. Yum. I was still hungry after one though, so I had another. This made a great hot breakfast in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States