Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I feel a little left out because I never had these growing up and my first experience seeing it was in the movie Moonstruck, but I made them as stated and they were great. I used a small juice glass and that size seemed to work. I used bacon grease, though I haven't cooked with that before and I thought they were great. I'm sure butter would be just fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious recipe I have used for more years than I care to remember. Good as is but I add a dash of worcestershire sauce to the egg. Now, to all you negative people...don't knock it until you try it. Adds a bit of zip, especially for a late evening snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have made this a few times and love it. Instead of using grease, butter or margarine, I lightly spray both sides of the bread with butter flavored cooking spray. There is no chance of it being oily and still has that butter taste to it. May have to try the olive oil cooking spray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I'VE ALWAYS LIKED IT WITH RYE BREAD AND WHEN I WAS SMALL WE CALLED IT POPEYE EGG,WHICH IN TURN WE WOULD FINISH OUR EGGS BECAUSE BREAKFAST WAS MADE FUN. 4 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I was leery about using bacon grease, but it turned out to be very tasty. My husband raved and asked for it again. I served it to a older lady from El Salvador who thought it was standard American breakfast and pronounced it "bueno." She's going to try to make it at her house. I used a shot glass to cut the circle and it was just right. Also, it's a great way to use bread that isn't good enough for sandwiches because it has become old and crumbly as happens here quickly in Florida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Family enjoyed it....omitted the bacon grease and used a little butter instead. Also toasted up the "cut round" in the buttered pan as well and used for dipping in the egg yolk. Used whole wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Been making this with homemade cheese bread for years. Always a hit with family & friends. Have to say the featured photo with raw eggs & untoasted bread, is a bit offputting. A photo of the finished dish would be more appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I love this recipe! I grew up eatting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I'm 41 and I just learned of these a few months ago-love them! My boyfriends family calls them 'egg in a frame'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I grew up in the Pittsburgh area and these were called "dippy eggs". Still delicious. When I was young my dad used to make them for me for breakfast before leaving for school on a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States