Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Been making Egg in a Hole for more than thirty years. Fry the cutout, too. Used to make them on campouts with our kids. Cheese is good. So is a little peanut butter. Add a thin layer while the egg and bread are still hot and it'll melt to perfection. Still making them today for our grandchildren. Neil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've been making this for years. Since I rarely have bacon, I use butter instead. I have a big kid (husband) who doesn't like runny yellows so I break his yolk and make sure it is very hard before serving, but for the rest of us, sopping up the left-over yellow with the cut out hole is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gelia Chappell
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I'm 57 and was raised on nest eggs. My kids and now my grands also love them. An empty tomato sauce can works great as a hole cutter. Just be sure to punch a hole in the opposite end to allow air to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Smit Gregory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have eaten this regularly ever since I was old enough for solid food! It was called "chicken on the roof" in our house, and still is in mine. I love hearing all the different names and had never heard of scrambling the eggs for it. It's also good with a slice of cheese put on when you flip it, then some ham or bacon & syrup over all (if you're feeling calorically deprived that day!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Brings me back to my childhood. My dad would make these, and he called them "Eggs Popeye". Instead of cutting a hole, each child would bite a hole out out of the center of their bread before cooking! Janis L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis LaPierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is an old family fav from the 60s, we kids would make it. First, we butter both sides of the bread, place it on the griddle and then punch out the middle with the inside of Mother's doughnut cutter, (the doughnut hole), or a small juice glass. Add the egg, season it, cook both sides. We called it "One-eyed Egyptian sandwich" I made it for my kids and they are still making it also...fun and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I make this all the time. It's a really easy, quick breakfast. My family calls this "Eggs in a Basket" though :) Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaguerra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My Mom made these for us as kids and for her grandkids as well. She always called in "Egg in a Hole with a Hat" ..was always a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
So simple But yet Sooo Delicious! I use a nice crusty Italian bread no Bacon grease Just butter both sides of the bread cant go stinger with this Recipe yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States