Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
this is a very simple recipe...good for beginner cooks to master
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My dad has been making these since I was little, we call them Toad in the Holes. Wonder if it's a MN thing??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Egg in a nest is what my Dad called it when I started to eat it in the 70s. A classic, simple, and fun dish. My son loves it like I did as a kid. My variation is a tad different. I don't use bacon grease, instead I butter a warm pan so there isn't a ton of butter used compared to buttering each individual side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTParis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
So yummy and easy! My whole family enjoys it when I serve these for breakfast! I always have the ingredients on hand, it's something hot to eat to help get the day started, and my daughter loves how silly it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband introduced me to this very easy yet delish recipe 20+ yrs ago (we call them Sunshine Eggs) and it has been a favorite in our family ever since. He taught me to first lightly toast the bread in the toaster, butter 1 side then cut the hole with a small cup. We also just use light cooking spray in the pan and save on the calories. So simple yet filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
my husband tried making this after watching 'V for Vendetta'. it's easy and delicious! love it when the yolk are half cooked and it ooze down the toast. simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Been making Egg in a Hole for more than thirty years. Fry the cutout, too. Used to make them on campouts with our kids. Cheese is good. So is a little peanut butter. Add a thin layer while the egg and bread are still hot and it'll melt to perfection. Still making them today for our grandchildren. Neil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've been making this for years. Since I rarely have bacon, I use butter instead. I have a big kid (husband) who doesn't like runny yellows so I break his yolk and make sure it is very hard before serving, but for the rest of us, sopping up the left-over yellow with the cut out hole is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I'm 57 and was raised on nest eggs. My kids and now my grands also love them. An empty tomato sauce can works great as a hole cutter. Just be sure to punch a hole in the opposite end to allow air to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Smit Gregory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have eaten this regularly ever since I was old enough for solid food! It was called "chicken on the roof" in our house, and still is in mine. I love hearing all the different names and had never heard of scrambling the eggs for it. It's also good with a slice of cheese put on when you flip it, then some ham or bacon & syrup over all (if you're feeling calorically deprived that day!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States