Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Been making this since I was in high school. Learned it in a cooking class when they still taught that. We used butter but now I use butter flavored Pam and also cut a hole in center, fry the center piece too. Those of us that can have all that grease. I salt and pepper it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I use French bread sliced diagonally and butter both sides. I heat on a panini maker and top off with a slice of cheddar. I always called it "bird in a nest".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
How about: my grandmother made this for me and called them "Toad In A Hole" in 1935! It has always been a favorite on "blue", "sad"' "gee whiz, how can this be" days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Just ran across this recipe while looking for something to do with eggs (since I really need to get to the grocery store). My mom used to make this for my brother and I, probably hadn't had it since I was 12 or so. Brings back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lefread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I grew up calling it "A birdie in the nest" I like to add a little rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was called Eggs in the Basket for me when I was growing up. I am 70 years young and it is still a great easy breakfast/brunch type of meal. I generally use butter on both sides and toast the one before putting in the egg as this helps so the white doesn't make it too soggy. It isn't toasted all the way just enough to put a light crust on it do the other side the same then add the egg it seems to help. In serving it I put the lid (already toasted also) back on the egg and serve it with bananas in orange juice. My kids loved this for a special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Quick easy and delish! My 8 year old son asks for this meal almost every morning. We never grow tired of it, and what a great way to get your protein in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hohlfeld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Eh, not worth the trouble. Just make an egg over medium and serve toast on the side and you get the same thing. In my book, the only thing that would have made this worth the trouble was if my kids thought it was a fun way to eat an egg and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Tried it the first time and hubby and I loved it. I didnt use bacon grease but just buttered the pan and the bread. I used the 1/4 measuring cup to cut the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I LOVE this recipe but instead of cutting a hole in the center you can just take a cup and stamp it in the middle like cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggylove

Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States