Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
How about: my grandmother made this for me and called them "Toad In A Hole" in 1935! It has always been a favorite on "blue", "sad"' "gee whiz, how can this be" days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Just ran across this recipe while looking for something to do with eggs (since I really need to get to the grocery store). My mom used to make this for my brother and I, probably hadn't had it since I was 12 or so. Brings back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lefread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I grew up calling it "A birdie in the nest" I like to add a little rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was called Eggs in the Basket for me when I was growing up. I am 70 years young and it is still a great easy breakfast/brunch type of meal. I generally use butter on both sides and toast the one before putting in the egg as this helps so the white doesn't make it too soggy. It isn't toasted all the way just enough to put a light crust on it do the other side the same then add the egg it seems to help. In serving it I put the lid (already toasted also) back on the egg and serve it with bananas in orange juice. My kids loved this for a special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Quick easy and delish! My 8 year old son asks for this meal almost every morning. We never grow tired of it, and what a great way to get your protein in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The chicken lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Eh, not worth the trouble. Just make an egg over medium and serve toast on the side and you get the same thing. In my book, the only thing that would have made this worth the trouble was if my kids thought it was a fun way to eat an egg and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Tried it the first time and hubby and I loved it. I didnt use bacon grease but just buttered the pan and the bread. I used the 1/4 measuring cup to cut the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I LOVE this recipe but instead of cutting a hole in the center you can just take a cup and stamp it in the middle like cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggylove
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
this is a very simple recipe...good for beginner cooks to master
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My dad has been making these since I was little, we call them Toad in the Holes. Wonder if it's a MN thing??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States