Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Darn good...I really do wonder who was the first person to actually carve a hole in a slice of bread and pour an egg in?! So many wonderful names for the dish too...I like "Cyclops"! Also thanks everyone for your great suggestions for different breads (even waffles), additions of shredded cheeses, spices and lots of different frying fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Ever since I watched Cher make eggs this way in the movie Moonstruck I have been making these eggs for my husband and myself..she used a crusty French bread, browned the centers, I was hooked....delightful way to lift an egg and bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
my mom used to make this for me when I was very little. Have always enjoyed this and am thrilled to see it included in allreceipes! By the way, she cooked this back in 1960.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've done this recipe for years, but I use it when I make French Toast: After toasting slices of bread, I dredge them in beatened eggs with a little cream and a splash of Vanilla added, before frying. When plating, a little powdered sugar, nutmeg and maple syrup to crown, and voila...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I started doing this when I was a kid because every time I tried to make eggs over-easy I always broke the yolk flipping them,so the bread acted like a bumper...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
When I was growing up, Mom would make these for my brother and me for breakfast. She called it "an egg in the nest". She would cut out a hole in the center by placing a small juice glass upside down on the bread and press down. Then she would butter each side of the bread, place it in the skillet (a cast iron skillet seem to work the best), put a dab of butter in the hole, crack an egg into the hole after the butter had melted and fry it until the bread was brown. Then she would flip it over and brown the other side. She would also butter the remaining pieces of bread cut from the middle and fry both sides. I still like 'em 50 years later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Been making this since I was in high school. Learned it in a cooking class when they still taught that. We used butter but now I use butter flavored Pam and also cut a hole in center, fry the center piece too. Those of us that can have all that grease. I salt and pepper it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I use French bread sliced diagonally and butter both sides. I heat on a panini maker and top off with a slice of cheddar. I always called it "bird in a nest".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
How about: my grandmother made this for me and called them "Toad In A Hole" in 1935! It has always been a favorite on "blue", "sad"' "gee whiz, how can this be" days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Just ran across this recipe while looking for something to do with eggs (since I really need to get to the grocery store). My mom used to make this for my brother and I, probably hadn't had it since I was 12 or so. Brings back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lefread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States