Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I am not a big fan of fried eggs, but decided to try this!! It was sooooo good. I used bacon grease and butter, and then turned it into a bacon, egg and chesse sandwich. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I first learned how to PEEK-A-BOO eggs from my Girl Scout Leader Aunt, when I was around 7 or 8. I butter one side of the bread and put it in the pan, then I cut the hole out with a small juice glass or a small mushroom can which has both ends cut off. I butter this side including the hole cut out hole and fry the bread until it's lightly golden. Flip over all the pieces and put a dot of butter in the cut out hole. Drop your egg in the middle and cook until the white is mostly cooked. Flip the egg and bread until the rest of the egg is cooked. It's easy to over cook and leave you with a hard cooked egg so use your finger to check the egg it should be slightly squishy. To serve I always put the grilled little cut out back on top of the egg. Small children always like to lift the lid and say Peek-A-Boo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huggyguy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We have made these for years and our kids loved them, but so did we. We called them "One-eyed sandwiches". And the cutouts were always an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I have made this for years and will often sprinkle curry on them for a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super..we call them "Hole in One" and I learned to make them in 7th grade home economics. That was over 50 years ago. We use buttered bread and toast the hole too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
we call these "one eyed egyptians" no idea why but hubby and i love them with crusty corned beef hash what cholesterol?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We call this Bird in the nest ...we also keep the holes we cut out to fry in the pan to dip in the egg yolk. This is a great way to introduce kids to cooking ... they usually get a kick out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Like many others I have been making these for years! My newest fun with it is to butter the bread, fold it over, let my granddaughter bite the middle out so she thinks she is helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I make this for my 7 yr old and they love it. I also us a mickey mouse cookie cutter to create a unique hole and then toast the cut out with it. It's a fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I cant believe Im in my 50s and never had these! Pretty good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States