Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This has been a favorite for decades. With a non-stick skillet, I don't add grease, though. Recently had some garlic butter left over and use it - delicious! I prefer wheat or oatnut bread, too, but you can't beat this for a good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Having 5 boys this was and still isa classic at our house. When they were little they loved to help, now I do this with my grandkids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Quite tasty. I didn't have bacon greas so I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Oh my ... what a surprise to see this. As a child (a few decades ago) this was always one of my favorite breakfast treats and my kids loved it too. It never had a "name", but I've since heard it called Toad in a Hole. Not terribly appetizing, but cute. I still eat it today for a light supper and breakfast. Butter is a great substitute for bacon grease. Thank you for sharing .. it made me smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My kids love this for breakfast. We call it Egyptian or Camel Eye Toast. We make it more fun by using a shaped cookie cutter to cut out the hole. I fry it hard (by breaking the yolk and moving it about) for one daughter and leave it runny for the other. Their favorite part is the little piece of leftover bread that is buttered and toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This brought back a nice memory of my childhood. We called them eggs in a nest. I don't use bacon grease now (though my mother did when I was child), I use margarine. I also use a glass to make the hole and I use either rye bread or whole wheat. It just holds up better and has great taste and texture with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I still have my 8th grade steno recipe book I had in Home Ec class (I'm 63 now) with this recipe in it. I had forgotten about it until this post. Thanks for the reminder. It was one of the items I really liked back then and is so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Wow does this bring back memories. My mom use to make this for us all the time when I was growing up..Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Du Bois, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yes, many names. My Dad called them Hobo Eggs, my husband calls them Toad in the Hole. I make them with Thomas' Bagel Thins, but you have to enlarge the hole! Butter, butter, butter. After flipping over I put a thin slice of ham on top, and cover skillet until the ham is warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
it's funny how a lot of us have never heard of this technique before.Is this more predominantly known in a certain area of the country?I live in the south and I have never heard of this before.Sounds like a pretty good dish.I think I'll try it sometime and put my own twist to it and let yall know how it turns out.Kinda neat,ain't it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States