Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
As so many have wrote, it's an old favorite. I was taught by an Italian woman and it was called egg in hat. Melt a slice of your favorite cheese on top, any pain you have will vanish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
We cooked this at Girl Scout camp outs. We cooked the egg and bread on the top of a #10 can over a fire we made ourselves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The only comment I have is a little PR, instead of calling it "bacon grease" it sounds better if you say "bacon drippings". It's the same thing, just sounds better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Interesting how we all seem to have different names for this, we called it a hole in one and did it a little differently, cut out the hole(sometimes using cookie cutters for different shapes) buttered both sides and the circle or shape, placed in frying pan, added egg, s&p, fried, flipped, enjoyed! dont forget to fry the bread removed from the centre, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
We call them "Bird in a Nest"! We first saw these when Cher was making them in the movie 'Moonstruck'. We make ours (as they did) with thick sliced Italian bread, buttered on bothe sides. I use real butter to fry them in but I'm sure bacon grease would be just wonderful! I also, as others state, fry the circles to enjoy along side the bird in the nests. Everyone loves these!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Haha i grew up making these myself. Me an my family called it "one eye winky"! I dont know where the name came from...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used unsalted butter instead of grease. Easy. Fast. Hot. Yum. I was still hungry after one though, so I had another. This made a great hot breakfast in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
one eyed jacks! A must have when i was pregnant in 2002!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this many mornings before school for my kids. They loved it..quick, easy and fun since they could help. We called it Cowboy Toast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Takes only minutes for a super quick breakfast. I sometimes smother them in chili and shredded cheese for my husband. My teenager makes two and then stacks them on top of each other with a slice of cheese in the middle. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States