Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have always loved this recipe since my Grandma taught me how to make it when I was 6 years old. She called it eggs in a frame and so do I. We use margarine or butter on the bread and do not cook in bacon grease. (might be tasty, but why make a cholesterol bomb a nuclear cholesterol bomb?)If you don't like over easy eggs, then just beat the egg with a fork before putting it in the frame. That's how my Grandma made it for me when I was a kid before I liked over easy eggs. I find using large eggs and making them runny results in too little bread to egg ratio, even with the holes toasted so I use medium eggs for this, or toast another slice per two frames.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
One of my favorite breakfast recipes. To save time some mornings, I toast the bread, butter it, fry up the egg and toss it on top. But for the days I want it to be cute and have the time, I go this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
It was really good. But one change I would make was use the butter spray on the pan an the bread, Make sure it doesn't burn but other than that it turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Tried it the other day, came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I've made this with cheddar cheese and it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
My five year old thinks this is the best thing! Not a bite was left behind and he is looking forward to having it again! Ty for the cute idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Substituted margarine for bacon grease and it turned out very well. Being pregnant, I can't eat under-cooked food so I scrambled the eggs and poured that in the hole. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Eggy in a basket. Add minced garlic and a bit of basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Rehntml
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ActingLikeAChef
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I didn't use bacon grease, just good 'ole cooking spray. I also added some shredded mozzarella for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ActingLikeAChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States