Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These are so fun to make. I melt the butter in my skillet and dip both sides of bread in it, then add the egg. Be sure your skillet is hot. I normally do not like runny eggs but can't get enough of them this way. It took me a few tries to get it just right. This is a quick dinner on busy evenings with sausage or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love this recipe my mother served this to us as children. But adding a drizzle of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Kleinsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have always loved this recipe since my Grandma taught me how to make it when I was 6 years old. She called it eggs in a frame and so do I. We use margarine or butter on the bread and do not cook in bacon grease. (might be tasty, but why make a cholesterol bomb a nuclear cholesterol bomb?)If you don't like over easy eggs, then just beat the egg with a fork before putting it in the frame. That's how my Grandma made it for me when I was a kid before I liked over easy eggs. I find using large eggs and making them runny results in too little bread to egg ratio, even with the holes toasted so I use medium eggs for this, or toast another slice per two frames.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
One of my favorite breakfast recipes. To save time some mornings, I toast the bread, butter it, fry up the egg and toss it on top. But for the days I want it to be cute and have the time, I go this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
It was really good. But one change I would make was use the butter spray on the pan an the bread, Make sure it doesn't burn but other than that it turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Tried it the other day, came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I've made this with cheddar cheese and it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
My five year old thinks this is the best thing! Not a bite was left behind and he is looking forward to having it again! Ty for the cute idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Substituted margarine for bacon grease and it turned out very well. Being pregnant, I can't eat under-cooked food so I scrambled the eggs and poured that in the hole. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States