Egg in a Cup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this for my little brother and I last night when we were both starved. He took one bite and then snatched the cup out of my hands! Afterwards he asked "are you a chef? how do you make such good stuff?" :) It's very very good and super easy, not to mention filling! I only used four crackers in each of ours and it was plenty, although I used a teensy bit more butter. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is a simple, delicious "comfort food." I used club crackers, and agree that 7 is way too many for one egg; next time, I'll try it with less. Also, like a previous reviewer, I used a poached egg, as it's far easier to just scoop right out of the water and plop onto your prepared crackers without the hassle of peeling the shell. I can see many ways this could be jazzed up...but for me, the flavours combine perfectly "as is." Thanks for a filling, yummy cup of comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Mmm, I remember these from my childhood. I've also made them myself once or twice since I graduated college. I do a couple of things differently, which I'll submit here for others to experiment with if they please: One, I grease the sides of the cup with butter instead of mixing it with the other ingredients. Two, I layer the eggs with bread torn into small pieces instead of crackers. You can also add shredded cheese layers, breakfast meats, sauteed onions, etc. The possibilities are really endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I do this recipe only with torn up bread pieces in a cup... and it tastes much better then with saltines! Also I add some fresh dill cut up in it too .... talk about mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Thank you, Majikman! We used to call these "Gramma's Eggs" because my maternal Grandmother used to make these -- especially when I was sick or needed comfort -- except she used one slice of buttered bread per egg torn or cut into pieces. instead of the crackers. Instead of peeling the eggs, we cracked them open (with a knife) and then scooped out the insides with a spoon into the cup. I found that three minutes was not enough (my whites were still a little runny), so I think I will cook them for four or five minutes next time. (Not enough to "ding" the recipe if the stove is slow.) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I loved this & then wanted my husband to try it. He didn't want to but then did, & he loved it too! I too used club crackers but will try it w/ saltines sometime. This would be great for breakfast on a camping trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My mom used to make this for us kids when we were sick. It was so yummy! I regretted not ever getting it from her. I'm so glad this recipe was here! I poached the eggs in about 3" of water, though, so as not to fuss with the eggshell. Although Mom always used Saltines, all I had on hand were the 12-grain wheat crackers from Trader Joe's (I guess the equivalent would be Ritz's) -- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Mmm, very good, quick and easy to make. I made this with left over sausage gravy and also mixed in some cheese! Sooo good! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My family has been making these for YEARS. I generally add a sprinkly of the grated Mexican blend cheese to mine. However, 7 crackers per cup is WAY to much cracker for one egg. Just about anything can be added to this, Fritos are a fun change, and adding a bit of chili can be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have never tried this with crackers. My grandfather made soft boiled eggs everyday for breakfast. He had the timing down to a science. Could make coffee, turn on radio, putter around and his eggs were perfect. Runny yolk, NOT runny whites. He always ate them in a coffee mug.He cooked the eggs in a small saucepan and just before the eggs were done, he would put some butter in the cup and place it in the saucepan to melt the butter, then scoop the perfectly cooked eggs into the cup. A little S + P, quick mix. He has been gone many years, I'm now 59 and that is absolutely the only way I eat my soft boiled eggs. But sadly I have never been able to get the timing right. Always have a piece of buttered toast ready to break up into cup to soak up and hide the runny white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States