Egg in a Cup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Thank you, Majikman! We used to call these "Gramma's Eggs" because my maternal Grandmother used to make these -- especially when I was sick or needed comfort -- except she used one slice of buttered bread per egg torn or cut into pieces. instead of the crackers. Instead of peeling the eggs, we cracked them open (with a knife) and then scooped out the insides with a spoon into the cup. I found that three minutes was not enough (my whites were still a little runny), so I think I will cook them for four or five minutes next time. (Not enough to "ding" the recipe if the stove is slow.) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My mom used to make this for us kids when we were sick. It was so yummy! I regretted not ever getting it from her. I'm so glad this recipe was here! I poached the eggs in about 3" of water, though, so as not to fuss with the eggshell. Although Mom always used Saltines, all I had on hand were the 12-grain wheat crackers from Trader Joe's (I guess the equivalent would be Ritz's) -- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Thanks for this recipe. I love having simple (and cheap too) recipes like this. You never know when you'll need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Mmm, very good, quick and easy to make. I made this with left over sausage gravy and also mixed in some cheese! Sooo good! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My mom used to make egg in a cup in the microwave with butter and no crackers, but I decided to give this a try 'cause it sounded great. Turns out I really didn't like the crackers - they just turned to mush. Next time I'll stick with Mom's method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this a while ago, but forgot to write my review until I ran across my printout of the recipe again. This was a pretty unusual recipe, and new to me. I thought it was pretty good, and had both helpings for myself. I'm not familiar with soft-boiled eggs, but the yolks were indeed runny, so I guess I did okay. But peeling them was quite tedious for such a little task - maybe there's a secret technique that makes it easier. I'd be up for making this again, should this recipe pop into my head sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this for my little brother and I last night when we were both starved. He took one bite and then snatched the cup out of my hands! Afterwards he asked "are you a chef? how do you make such good stuff?" :) It's very very good and super easy, not to mention filling! I only used four crackers in each of ours and it was plenty, although I used a teensy bit more butter. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crescent, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this sounded very odd, but tryed it anyway. I love it. Quick easy good and filling. perfect for me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
My grandmother made this with animal crackers. It gave a sweetness to balance the egg as she salted it. YYYYUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylishsunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
LOVE this! This is food from childhood, we ate it (and still do!) with Ritz crackers, SO yummy! We also use poached eggs, much easier than dealing with peeling a soft-boiled egg. Thanks for the memory, this may be dinner tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States