Egg in a Cup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used yard eggs, torn up pieces of buttered toast bread and sprinkled some shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top and WOW!!! I find it easier to make over easy eggs in the pan instead of boiling and peeling. It's faster and the outcome is the same. I will try it the way it is suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Never knew a recipe for this existed. Thought it was just something my father dreamed up 75 years ago. If he was sick, it was always what he wanted when nothing else sounded good and he always put a lot of pepper on top. I need to revive this in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've had something similar to this except we poached our eggs in evaporated milk and then poured the whole egg-milk mixture over crushed cornflakes! Not an empty plate in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Add some crumbled bacon.....mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My wife has been making this for me for many years now and it's great.... really tasty and fills you up; great for breakfast. I'd give it 5 stars and the trick is to not cook the eggs to much; leave them with some runny yolk to mix with the crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark R. Hagood
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I used to have this as a kid, but we would butter bread and cut it into little squares and then put it in the cup with the egg over it, the butter on the bread replaced the extra butter, we added a little salt and pepper.. YUMMY!! That would be my breakfast before going to school, held me over till my first school break lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teribus43
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've been making these eggs for over 50 years, I boil them for 3 min., take them out of the water and let cool for 1 min, crack them in half and scoop them out of the shell over toast that I have torn up. I never thought of crackers but may give it a try. My Mom used to butter the toast before putting the eggs on them, but I just leave it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Used to eat this ALL the time for a late night snack with my dad when I was a kid!! Just talking about it the other day and stumbled upon this! LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homestyle Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It was nothing exciting. It wasn't bad but it just didn't do anything for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I used to eat this type of egg when I was little and now make it for my own girls. I boil my eggs for 4 minutes though for my personal doneness. Also, instead of peeling I hold the egg in a paper towel and use a knife to crack it open and scoop out the egg. Much easier. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States