Egg in a Cup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This reminds me of when I was a child, my mom use to make this for me whenever I had a sore throat, only she used slice bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was way better than I expected! I added crumbled bacon..that took it to the next level! Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This hit the spot while recovering from a stomach bug. I don't have nostalgic memories of this recipe like many reviewers, so I can't say it was 'delicious', but it was tasty and simple and I will keep this one on hand. I only used 5 crackers for one egg, but will stick to 4 like other reviewers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I eat eggs every day for breakfast and will be adding this to my recipe box. As someone else mentioned, I cracked my eggs into about 2-3" simmering water and poached them for 3 minutes. Scooped out with a slotted spoon right into the cup. I used 4 saltines as suggested and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used buttered bread torn into small pieces instead of crackers and it was awesome. Can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
The ratio of saltines to egg makes for a very dry dish in this recipe. I prefer my bowl to be more egg than cracker. My mother made these when we were little (and I'm 64 now!) I got tired of cracking soft-boiled eggs and have begun to just poach 2 eggs and cut into 6 to 8 crushed saltines. No butter necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My son and I decided to give this a try one morning. We thought it was good. I only used 4 crackers though and added some salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have never tried this with crackers. My grandfather made soft boiled eggs everyday for breakfast. He had the timing down to a science. Could make coffee, turn on radio, putter around and his eggs were perfect. Runny yolk, NOT runny whites. He always ate them in a coffee mug.He cooked the eggs in a small saucepan and just before the eggs were done, he would put some butter in the cup and place it in the saucepan to melt the butter, then scoop the perfectly cooked eggs into the cup. A little S + P, quick mix. He has been gone many years, I'm now 59 and that is absolutely the only way I eat my soft boiled eggs. But sadly I have never been able to get the timing right. Always have a piece of buttered toast ready to break up into cup to soak up and hide the runny white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Who knew crackers and egg would be so good. I've had it two days in a row, but with only 4 crackers for one egg, poached. I am not a breakfast person, but must eat with my meds. This goes down easy! This is the answer when you've run out of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used yard eggs, torn up pieces of buttered toast bread and sprinkled some shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top and WOW!!! I find it easier to make over easy eggs in the pan instead of boiling and peeling. It's faster and the outcome is the same. I will try it the way it is suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States