Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is a good and easy recipe I make for my wife and daughters. However I change it and I spirnkle Brown Sugar or Cinnamon to each side of the buttered bread. It adds an extra sweetness to it and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Been making tses for 42 years. My mother-in-law before me. So I guess the family has eaten these for 100 years. We call them egg houses. My mother-in -law called them Gas house eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe, my only addition to it is I take the centers that get punched out, butter them a little bit and dip them in cinnamon sugar and fry them. Makes an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
When I was a kid we would call these "Toad in the hole" and we would turn them over and top with a piece of processed cheese. When the cheese is melted they are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I use to make this from a recipe book that I had as a child, so much fun. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Milks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I flip mine as I don't like runny whites and it works out just fine! Yum! I've always known these as girlscout eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We call this Toad in a Hole. I add the egg right after I put the bread in the pan. I turn the heat off when I flip it over. I toast the "hole" along with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Love this recipe. We've always called them Jim Dandy's. I use a standard juice glass to press down in the center and cut out the hole. Have to use the electric griddle when the Grandkids are here to stay up with the orders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I have had this my whole life, we called it egg in a nest. We toast the cut out piece and put it on top after cooked. Its good and kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is a very good way to make an egg with bread. I have been making this so called egg boat for many many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States