Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great recipe for those who need to bake without eggs. Not the exact same as the traditional brownie... but runs a very close race. Plus in my case, my kids don't know the difference since they can't have the "real" ones. Even grandpa - the brownie authority - loves em. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe said and they turned out great. They really puff up big. It took them a long time to cook and a long time to cool, and they stayed really chewy and moist in the middle. Since they had no eggs, though, I wasn't too concerned. I used soy margarine to make them vegan and used almonds instead of walnuts. Then I cut them in half horizontally and made ice cream sandwiches with soy vanilla ice cream. A great treat for people with any dietary persuasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
'Really lovely. They taste just like proper brownies except better! Really moist and chocolatey!' This was what my 8yr old said, even though I also made them with gluten-free flour, and substituted some of the sugar with natural xylitol sweetener and fructose. The only variations were as reviewers had recommended - melt some chocolate with the butter, and I added some soya milk to make the batter 'pourable'. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Thank you, this recipe is perfect for someone with an egg allergy. They taste great and everyone likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The look on my sons face made this So worth it! My husband (who doesn't have any egg allergies) really enjoyed these too, this is definitely a keeper. I added a few chocolate chips to the mix and then drizzled a little caramel sauce over the top of the batter before baking and WOW - happy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was delicious - slightly tricky to make as there's a lot of shifting stuff from bowl to bowl, but absolutely great result. I skipped the vanilla and it still tasted great - gooey on the bottom, crunchy on top. Well recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
LOVE this recipe. I did add some milk to make it easier to stir. I also added some chocolate chips and mint leaves for fun. They taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
pretty okay for no eggs. probably a real treat if you are allergic and are dying for some brownies. here's what i did, though. i had a can of godiva chocolate truffle hot cocoa and i cooked a tbsp of it with the flour /water mixture. then i used half serious cocoa (valrhona) with half the godiva cocoa in the cocoa/butter mixture. i baked the brownies in a 9x9 pan for thicker, fudgier brownies for about 45-50 minutes. the godiva stuff made it sweeter and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polarbearcupcake
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Just made these, and they're not very chocolaty. I even added some chopped chocolate, and that helped a little but these don't compare to regular brownies, in my opinion. They lack the moist texture and richness, perhaps using veggie oil would work better than butter? If I try them again I'd add a LOT more cocoa, a bit more sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
*** AWESOME *** The best egg-free brownies ever. Next time I'll try them with 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States