Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These were fabulous! I made a few changes as listed above, but I also added about two -to-three tablespoons of applesauce to keep it moist. finally, brownies my hubby and I can both eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
These were the worst brownies I have ever tasted! After the first batch I tried making it following some of the other suggestions, but they were just plain bad. They had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great recipe for those who need to bake without eggs. Not the exact same as the traditional brownie... but runs a very close race. Plus in my case, my kids don't know the difference since they can't have the "real" ones. Even grandpa - the brownie authority - loves em. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe said and they turned out great. They really puff up big. It took them a long time to cook and a long time to cool, and they stayed really chewy and moist in the middle. Since they had no eggs, though, I wasn't too concerned. I used soy margarine to make them vegan and used almonds instead of walnuts. Then I cut them in half horizontally and made ice cream sandwiches with soy vanilla ice cream. A great treat for people with any dietary persuasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
'Really lovely. They taste just like proper brownies except better! Really moist and chocolatey!' This was what my 8yr old said, even though I also made them with gluten-free flour, and substituted some of the sugar with natural xylitol sweetener and fructose. The only variations were as reviewers had recommended - melt some chocolate with the butter, and I added some soya milk to make the batter 'pourable'. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Thank you, this recipe is perfect for someone with an egg allergy. They taste great and everyone likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The look on my sons face made this So worth it! My husband (who doesn't have any egg allergies) really enjoyed these too, this is definitely a keeper. I added a few chocolate chips to the mix and then drizzled a little caramel sauce over the top of the batter before baking and WOW - happy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was delicious - slightly tricky to make as there's a lot of shifting stuff from bowl to bowl, but absolutely great result. I skipped the vanilla and it still tasted great - gooey on the bottom, crunchy on top. Well recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
LOVE this recipe. I did add some milk to make it easier to stir. I also added some chocolate chips and mint leaves for fun. They taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
pretty okay for no eggs. probably a real treat if you are allergic and are dying for some brownies. here's what i did, though. i had a can of godiva chocolate truffle hot cocoa and i cooked a tbsp of it with the flour /water mixture. then i used half serious cocoa (valrhona) with half the godiva cocoa in the cocoa/butter mixture. i baked the brownies in a 9x9 pan for thicker, fudgier brownies for about 45-50 minutes. the godiva stuff made it sweeter and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polarbearcupcake
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States