Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was an ok recipe. The batter was very runny at first, but then it seemed to cook very well. I found it was much easier to stir by hand. I would recommend this to people who are allergic to eggs, but people who aren't you might want to use a recipe that has eggs, that recipe might be a bit more enjoyable. Oh, don't get me wrong the recipe was not bad just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My sister and I found this recipe today hoping for a good egg-free brownie recipe because we didn't have any in the house. However, the batter was thick & goopy, and extremely difficult to spread into the pan (and get off the electric mixer). When it was finished baking, the top had deep ridge & was so uneven from the overly-cakey texture. When we tried them, (hoping for the best) they were bland & did not taste like brownies at all. I would never make this again. Even after putting chocoloate frosting on top in an attempt to save the recipe, the brownie was still almost revolting. My brother, who loves brownies, did not take more than one bite. Waste of ingredients, if you ask us. We'll be sticking with the brownies that are made with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These brownies are the best!! You would NEVER know they are egg-free - they are as good as (or better than) any other brownie recipe I have ever made. The perfect balance of chewy texture and crispy edges/top. I did follow some other reviewers' suggestions and substitute 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate (melted along with the butter) for the cocoa powder, and I add some milk chocolate chips to the batter and to the top once I've put the batter in the pan. I've made these several times for my 6 year-old son's class (he's allergic to eggs & nuts), and they are always a hit. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My granddaughter is allergic to eggs and I have been trying many recipes for an egg free brownie. This one comes very close to tasting like regular brownies. These are very good and they will be a staple in our house. Thank you for this recipe. I had just about given up on brownies made without eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe for egg free. I originally searched for an egg free recipe because I was out of eggs, but I also have 2 vegans at work so this recipe was a double joy. As others suggested I cut the Baking Powder to 1 tsp. Using melted bakers chocolate gives a more fudgy result, use cocoa powder for a more solid dessert. Adding the chips makes for a nice chocolatey burst, but the brownie stands well on its own. I also make a topping of 1c peanut butter, 1tbl butter, 2tbl corn or maple syrup. Heat in a double boiler and mix until smooth and well heated. 1-2c powdered sugar (I use 1c, my mom uses 2) and after its well blended pour over the cooled or slightly warm brownie. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Thank you for a great recipe. I made this today for my egg-allergic daughter. I made half a recipe, adding a little milk to the batter. The batter is very sticky. The result is yummy, not very gooey like most brownies but not too cake-like either. I may want to tweak the recipe next time but I always make it as close to the original recipe the first time around to give the original a chance. This one is really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
For the past seven years I have been tried literally dozens and dozens of brownie recipes trying to get the right combination of brownie consistency and fudginess and these were perfect! Two of my sons have lots of food allergies and I have not been able to successfully make brownies that I thought were as good as the original egg type. These were great and a great find!! I did make a few changes based on Jean R.'s suggestions. I reduced baking soda to 1 tsp, flour to 1.5 cups and added 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Other than those changes - everything was the same. I am so happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this recipe using the changes suggested by Jean R. and these brownies were fantastic!!! (Thanks Jean) I am so excited to find an egg-free brownie recipe for my daughter who is allergic to eggs and is a chocolate lover. Thanks for sharing this great recipe and for all the suggestions in the reviews! I am giving this 4 stars because I did try just a tiny bite of these from the original recipe and they were more cakey and less rich than I prefer my brownies to be. The changes make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I have used a modified version of this recipe to get brownies that are crusty outside, and fudgy inside. Here it is: Flour: 180g(130+50) Sugar: 2 cups Melted Dark Chocolate: 150g Butter: 75g Vegetable Oil: 3-4 Tbsp Baking powder: 1 tsp + a pinch Cocoa powder: 2 tsp Water: 240ml Chopped Walnuts: 40g Salt: 1/4 tsp Vanilla essence: 1 tsp Modifications in procedure from original recipe: Use 50g flour with the water to get a thick mixture. Melt the butter and add the melted chocolate to it. Bake for 65 min at 170 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Hm. Not the best. I'll grant that they were squidgy, but in a stodgy way. The edges were just about ok, but the rest of it tasted a bit like chocolate wallpaper paste. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States