Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe! I used 1/3 cup dark cocoa and 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips rather than 2/3 cups of cocoa. It was moist, chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great egg-free brownies...toppped with homemade chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Amazing Recipe!, make sure you follow directions exactly, it may look like you are using too much flour etc.. but TRUST THE RECIPE!, I doubled it and used it to make some special brownies and they were freaking awesome, just the right amount of chewy and cakey A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Best egg-free brownie I've tried. My son is allergic to eggs, so we've tried several. This brownie tastes best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My 6 year old daughter has an egg allergy and desperately wanted me to make brownies she could eat for her half birthday celebration at school. While experimenting I made a brownie mix with egg-replacer. They were awful. I made the vegan brownies in allrecipies. They tasted great but were too crumbly for her to take to school. I then made this recipe as written. Compared to the vegan brownies, they were rather tasteless but they had a good texture. So, i decided to try again but partially follow the advice of another reviewer. I replaced the cocoa powder with 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate and sprinkled in a few mini semi-sweet chocoate chips. I also sprinkled a few of the mini semi-sweet chocolate chips on top before baking. They turned out wonderful and you would never know they don't contain eggs. My daughter's classmates loved them and so did my family. Now, I can make brownies that the whole family can eat. (I don't put nuts in because both of my children have nut allergies as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i made these last night and they were not as good as i hoped they'd be. i didnt have eggs on hand so i wanted to try a recipe that called for no eggs and i will not be making this again. i will most def go to tge store to get eggs the next time i wanna make beowines. my husband liked them though but me and my sister in-law did not! they tasted to much like flour and to sweet! did not like not fudge enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was an ok recipe. The batter was very runny at first, but then it seemed to cook very well. I found it was much easier to stir by hand. I would recommend this to people who are allergic to eggs, but people who aren't you might want to use a recipe that has eggs, that recipe might be a bit more enjoyable. Oh, don't get me wrong the recipe was not bad just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My sister and I found this recipe today hoping for a good egg-free brownie recipe because we didn't have any in the house. However, the batter was thick & goopy, and extremely difficult to spread into the pan (and get off the electric mixer). When it was finished baking, the top had deep ridge & was so uneven from the overly-cakey texture. When we tried them, (hoping for the best) they were bland & did not taste like brownies at all. I would never make this again. Even after putting chocoloate frosting on top in an attempt to save the recipe, the brownie was still almost revolting. My brother, who loves brownies, did not take more than one bite. Waste of ingredients, if you ask us. We'll be sticking with the brownies that are made with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These brownies are the best!! You would NEVER know they are egg-free - they are as good as (or better than) any other brownie recipe I have ever made. The perfect balance of chewy texture and crispy edges/top. I did follow some other reviewers' suggestions and substitute 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate (melted along with the butter) for the cocoa powder, and I add some milk chocolate chips to the batter and to the top once I've put the batter in the pan. I've made these several times for my 6 year-old son's class (he's allergic to eggs & nuts), and they are always a hit. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
My granddaughter is allergic to eggs and I have been trying many recipes for an egg free brownie. This one comes very close to tasting like regular brownies. These are very good and they will be a staple in our house. Thank you for this recipe. I had just about given up on brownies made without eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States