Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise! Looks like a lot of steps but it's well worth the effort. We used the advice for less baking powder (only 1.5 tsps) and a little more flour up to a cup. Nice to know we can have a brownie if we're out of eggs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These are great! A wonderful and easy way to make brownies minus the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very very yummy! Moist delish! As far as those who said it was too much work...phish posh you must not have a member of your family who has food allergies because most good recipes do have a few steps. I won't change a thing and will keep this as a favorite. The only thing we did different was cook in 8x8 pan so we would have thicker brownies and doubled the cooking time. So good they only lasted 1 day. So worth the effort thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These really turned out well. I was pleasantly surprised. I may try to add applesauce next time to see if they come a bit more moist. But overall, I did not miss the eggs. They just tasted like a good low-fat brownie. I am not a fan of fudgy brownies so I loved the cake like texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe is wonderful as is. I made it in a glass 9x13 dish and it came out perfect. We especially liked the nice, thin, crispy top it had when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe was actually surprisingly good! I made a few changes and they tasted just as good, if not better, than the ones I usually make with eggs. Instead of using white sugar I used brown sugar. I also melted in 2 squares of unsweetened bakers chocolate with the butter before I stirred n the cocoa powder. I also added in 1/4 cup skim milk at the end because I found the mixture was too thick. The brownies turned out moist and chewy and really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Would have given these 5 stars but I did use different ingredients. Made these for my daughter who is egg, dairy, gluten, corn and soy intolerent. SHE LOVED THEM! Used gluten free flour but had to use the maragine because I didn't have anything else. I also followed the advice of others and cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added a few choc. chips. Will make again and again. It was so worth seeing her enjoy something she hasn't been able to eat in several years. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Fantastic!!!! My egg / nut allergic daughter loves them and the rest of the family can't tell the difference!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
If you try, make sure you let everything cool to room temp before combining. Batter tastes great - and you can taste it since there are no eggs. I made nice thick flour/water base, but didn't let it cool long. I didn't cool the chocolate mixture for very long. The result smelled great - looked a bit odd - tasted okay. There was a thin light crust on top of a gooey almost lava cake like layer. Not really brownies in texture, but definitely in taste. I ended up reheating them in the microwave in individual bowls then topped with vanilla bean ice cream. Awesome dessert, but not quite the brownies I was hoping for - I couldn't see packing them in a school lunch for instance since they are so gooey. If I try them again I'll let everythign really cool first adn see if they hold up better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I found this same recipe on a vegan site and made due to my having no eggs on hand. I was very skeptical but went ahead. They baked up nicely in the oven, the raw dough was delicious. I even added semisweet chips and some espresso powder. I liked the fudgy texture but thought the flavor could have been richer. Easy recipe and many have said the flavors deepen by the next day, will have to see. And will certainly try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States