Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these brownies last night, and I have to say that I was impressed. We are currently practicing lent, and I had a serious sweet tooth last night. I will say that I added about 1/2 cup of hershey's chocolate syrup to the mixture, just to give a bit more chocolate flavor. I ended up having to bake it almost 15 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. I'm not sure if that had something to do with the syrup. Anyway, they turned out a bit denser than a cake would, but not as dense as normal brownies. My husband loves them because they aren't "too" sweet, and he ate the half the pan last night! Next time, I will add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OH MY!!! Was very nervous about making a brownie without eggs, but I really cannot stand the smell and taste of baked goods as much anymore since these two senses have become more sensitive as I have gotten older, and I stumbled upon this recipe and decided why not?! SOOOO glad I did, they are terrific, not sure what they are like made true to the recipe, I took the advice of a few reviewers and decreased the baking powder to 1 tsp and added an extra TBS of cocoa powder and some whole milk to the recipe to soften up the batter just before pouring to my pan. Added 1/2 C. of chocolate chips, too and voila! Soft and chocolately brownie goodness!!! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise! Looks like a lot of steps but it's well worth the effort. We used the advice for less baking powder (only 1.5 tsps) and a little more flour up to a cup. Nice to know we can have a brownie if we're out of eggs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These are great! A wonderful and easy way to make brownies minus the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very very yummy! Moist delish! As far as those who said it was too much work...phish posh you must not have a member of your family who has food allergies because most good recipes do have a few steps. I won't change a thing and will keep this as a favorite. The only thing we did different was cook in 8x8 pan so we would have thicker brownies and doubled the cooking time. So good they only lasted 1 day. So worth the effort thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These really turned out well. I was pleasantly surprised. I may try to add applesauce next time to see if they come a bit more moist. But overall, I did not miss the eggs. They just tasted like a good low-fat brownie. I am not a fan of fudgy brownies so I loved the cake like texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe is wonderful as is. I made it in a glass 9x13 dish and it came out perfect. We especially liked the nice, thin, crispy top it had when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe was actually surprisingly good! I made a few changes and they tasted just as good, if not better, than the ones I usually make with eggs. Instead of using white sugar I used brown sugar. I also melted in 2 squares of unsweetened bakers chocolate with the butter before I stirred n the cocoa powder. I also added in 1/4 cup skim milk at the end because I found the mixture was too thick. The brownies turned out moist and chewy and really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Would have given these 5 stars but I did use different ingredients. Made these for my daughter who is egg, dairy, gluten, corn and soy intolerent. SHE LOVED THEM! Used gluten free flour but had to use the maragine because I didn't have anything else. I also followed the advice of others and cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added a few choc. chips. Will make again and again. It was so worth seeing her enjoy something she hasn't been able to eat in several years. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Fantastic!!!! My egg / nut allergic daughter loves them and the rest of the family can't tell the difference!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States