Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Perfect! I was looking for a good egg-free brownie recipe for my nephew who has egg alergies. These worked perfectly! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added chocolate chips. I also avoided adding nuts. It took a little longer than the recipe said to cook, but it turned out perfectly! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe was very good but I felt that some changes could be made to improve the taste and texture. I substituted 4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted with the margarine, for the cocoa, and cut the flour down to 1 1/2 cups. I added the 1 cup chocolate chips and to produce a more fudgy product, I also cut the baking powder down to 1 tsp. The result is amazing and hard to believe that they are egg free. I have tried for years to develop a suitable brownie recipe for my son who is allergic to eggs. This recipe, with the changes I suggest, is far superior to any I have tried previously. They definitely pass the brownie test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
For those of us who are unable to use eggs in our baking, this is a winner! I have tried many times to make a brownie using different egg replacers and have never suceeded. Usually, it ends up a googey mess or just like a cake. This is great. I made 2 batches, the first exactly to recipe - came out a little cakey, but great taste. The second lot, I followed other reviewers suggestions and add enough milk to be able to "pour" the batter into the pan and also added about 1/2 cup of choc chips. This was fantastic!!!! (Not exactly like brownie made with eggs but very very close). Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Very good, different texture but not that different. A good substitute, the kids loved them! This will be made for many more years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were great-but I substituted evaporated cannned milk for the water as well as added 1 tsp of rum flavoring to make it interesting.A very Good eggless brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSWEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I had no eggs in the house and my daughter wanted to make something with me...that's how I ran across this recipe. It turned out great...loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This recipe is the absolute BEST. My grandson has egg and peanut allergies and this is the best recipe I have tried. They raise beautifully and are so moist and rich! We are going to use them for his "birthday cake"!! Thank you!!!! I have tried Many and always disappointed until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
My daughter has milk, egg, and peanut allergies. I have been looking for a decent brownie recipe for about a year and have tried many that weren't "up to par". I did this one - eliminated the nuts and used a safe margarine. I also added safe chocolate chips for her. She (3 yrs old) loved them. My husband loved them - said you probably couldn't tell the difference between these and regular brownies! And most of all - I LOVED THEM! They are chocolatey, moist, fudgy and not too cake like. YUM!!! Thank you for posting this one! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
i am so thankful i found this recipe on here. i am out of eggs, long day, didn't want to run to the store. i will state i did not do the recipe to its exact specifications, because i had my chocolate and butter melted and ready for my usual recipe when i discovered...no eggs in the house. i added three big tablespoons applesauce because, with all the flour i was wondering how moist they'd be. mine turned out moist, still a bit on the cakey side, which i'm more a chewy brownie fan, but the recipe i think is a great basic recipe that comes in handy. it can easily be added to, and i will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I also have a child with allergies to nuts and eggs, and I was THRILLED to find a brownie recipe for him. Although I didn't follow the recipe from scratch (I followed others suggestions and added more cocoa, sugar and a bit of milk, since the batter is really thick), the recipe came out great! This is one of the better recipes for a dessert without eggs! Thank you! Thank you!!! Now my child doesn't have to feel excluded when it comes to dessert time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States