Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Made these today because I was out of eggs and we don't live close to a store. I followed the directions carefully, making especially sure to let the flour water mixture get nice & thick. I used quality ingredients (freshly milled flour, unsweetened name brand cocoa, good butter, & organic sugar) I substituted mini chocolate chips for the walnuts. The end result was a moist brownie with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
a must try. my fav recipe. first time I baked this during my pregnancy - the best. I try so hard to avoid too much eggs or no eggs in my diet. up until now, I still use this particular recipe for my all kind/types of brownies. thank you. This week I am baking my rose brownies using this recipe again. TQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My kid has an egg and nut allergy, and I needed brownies for a school function. These were great! I read some of the reviews, and adjusted the recipe according to one reviewer's recommendation -- only because she had such strong conviction about her changes. I don't know what the original recipe tastes like, so maybe it's just as good, but here are the changes I made: instead of cocoa, I melted 4 squares of unsweetened (60%) chocolate bar with the butter; I reduced the dry flour mixture to 1 1/2 cups of flour; I reduced the baking powder to 1 teaspoon; and added a bunch of chocolate chips into the batter and on top. Yummy! Oh, maybe it's my oven, but I had to bake these a lot longer than 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This brownie recipe was amazing. So great to find a recipe that doesn't use eggs. Anyone who hasn't had success with this recipe obviously didn't follow it correctly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Morrill
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Moist and cake-like, but not too cakey. Bakes up nice and full, unlike some brownies that call for more butter and tend to be thinner, but perhaps fudgier. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper! I made 1/2 recipe and they came out great. I used walnuts and even left out 50g of sugar. Find it hard to believe that people thought they were not sweet enough (yikes). I also thought the chocolate amount was fine (used a good quality Dutch-process cocoa).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Morrill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I decided to add more cocoa powder and it still only tasted like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awesome Person

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Well i had to bake it a little longer than 20-25 mins and i added oil insted of the butter but so far so good than i man a icing to go on top of it... omg it looks good... im waiting till morning to try it but i rate it a ????? if i could i would rate it a 6 or 7 ?s thank ypu for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I was out of eggs so I figured I might as well make this recipe considering I'm going to go Vegan in a few months. The texture was off and the taste was bland. For what it's worth I give it a 2/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It tasted wonderful! Only when I put the batter in the pan it was really thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe doesn't have NEARLY enough liquid and it almost set my mixer on fire. And that was AFTER I had added water. It tasted like cookie dough and was much thicker. I followed it step by step and the color was wrong. I think if I had baked these that I would've gotten a rock in my mouth. The only way i could stir it was with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States