Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was delicious - slightly tricky to make as there's a lot of shifting stuff from bowl to bowl, but absolutely great result. I skipped the vanilla and it still tasted great - gooey on the bottom, crunchy on top. Well recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
LOVE this recipe. I did add some milk to make it easier to stir. I also added some chocolate chips and mint leaves for fun. They taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
pretty okay for no eggs. probably a real treat if you are allergic and are dying for some brownies. here's what i did, though. i had a can of godiva chocolate truffle hot cocoa and i cooked a tbsp of it with the flour /water mixture. then i used half serious cocoa (valrhona) with half the godiva cocoa in the cocoa/butter mixture. i baked the brownies in a 9x9 pan for thicker, fudgier brownies for about 45-50 minutes. the godiva stuff made it sweeter and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polarbearcupcake
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Just made these, and they're not very chocolaty. I even added some chopped chocolate, and that helped a little but these don't compare to regular brownies, in my opinion. They lack the moist texture and richness, perhaps using veggie oil would work better than butter? If I try them again I'd add a LOT more cocoa, a bit more sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
*** AWESOME *** The best egg-free brownies ever. Next time I'll try them with 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My kids have milk/egg allergies so I was looking for a good brownie recipe. This is NOT it. The texture and taste are terrible. It's definitely more crumbly-cakey than chewy and fudgy. It has an acidic aftertaste as well, and it requires several steps--Not worth it! Perhaps some serious tweaking would fix some of the issues, but as it stands, it's a waste of flour and sugar. We did really enjoy Vegan Brownies by SandyWifey31S. Try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Not bad. They need powered sugar on top. I was surprised they turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Perfect! I was looking for a good egg-free brownie recipe for my nephew who has egg alergies. These worked perfectly! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added chocolate chips. I also avoided adding nuts. It took a little longer than the recipe said to cook, but it turned out perfectly! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe was very good but I felt that some changes could be made to improve the taste and texture. I substituted 4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted with the margarine, for the cocoa, and cut the flour down to 1 1/2 cups. I added the 1 cup chocolate chips and to produce a more fudgy product, I also cut the baking powder down to 1 tsp. The result is amazing and hard to believe that they are egg free. I have tried for years to develop a suitable brownie recipe for my son who is allergic to eggs. This recipe, with the changes I suggest, is far superior to any I have tried previously. They definitely pass the brownie test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
For those of us who are unable to use eggs in our baking, this is a winner! I have tried many times to make a brownie using different egg replacers and have never suceeded. Usually, it ends up a googey mess or just like a cake. This is great. I made 2 batches, the first exactly to recipe - came out a little cakey, but great taste. The second lot, I followed other reviewers suggestions and add enough milk to be able to "pour" the batter into the pan and also added about 1/2 cup of choc chips. This was fantastic!!!! (Not exactly like brownie made with eggs but very very close). Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States