Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made these exactly as the recipe said and they turned out great. They really puff up big. It took them a long time to cook and a long time to cool, and they stayed really chewy and moist in the middle. Since they had no eggs, though, I wasn't too concerned. I used soy margarine to make them vegan and used almonds instead of walnuts. Then I cut them in half horizontally and made ice cream sandwiches with soy vanilla ice cream. A great treat for people with any dietary persuasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
'Really lovely. They taste just like proper brownies except better! Really moist and chocolatey!' This was what my 8yr old said, even though I also made them with gluten-free flour, and substituted some of the sugar with natural xylitol sweetener and fructose. The only variations were as reviewers had recommended - melt some chocolate with the butter, and I added some soya milk to make the batter 'pourable'. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Thank you, this recipe is perfect for someone with an egg allergy. They taste great and everyone likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The look on my sons face made this So worth it! My husband (who doesn't have any egg allergies) really enjoyed these too, this is definitely a keeper. I added a few chocolate chips to the mix and then drizzled a little caramel sauce over the top of the batter before baking and WOW - happy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was delicious - slightly tricky to make as there's a lot of shifting stuff from bowl to bowl, but absolutely great result. I skipped the vanilla and it still tasted great - gooey on the bottom, crunchy on top. Well recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
LOVE this recipe. I did add some milk to make it easier to stir. I also added some chocolate chips and mint leaves for fun. They taste amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
pretty okay for no eggs. probably a real treat if you are allergic and are dying for some brownies. here's what i did, though. i had a can of godiva chocolate truffle hot cocoa and i cooked a tbsp of it with the flour /water mixture. then i used half serious cocoa (valrhona) with half the godiva cocoa in the cocoa/butter mixture. i baked the brownies in a 9x9 pan for thicker, fudgier brownies for about 45-50 minutes. the godiva stuff made it sweeter and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polarbearcupcake
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Just made these, and they're not very chocolaty. I even added some chopped chocolate, and that helped a little but these don't compare to regular brownies, in my opinion. They lack the moist texture and richness, perhaps using veggie oil would work better than butter? If I try them again I'd add a LOT more cocoa, a bit more sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
*** AWESOME *** The best egg-free brownies ever. Next time I'll try them with 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My kids have milk/egg allergies so I was looking for a good brownie recipe. This is NOT it. The texture and taste are terrible. It's definitely more crumbly-cakey than chewy and fudgy. It has an acidic aftertaste as well, and it requires several steps--Not worth it! Perhaps some serious tweaking would fix some of the issues, but as it stands, it's a waste of flour and sugar. We did really enjoy Vegan Brownies by SandyWifey31S. Try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States