Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
WOW! I had no idea it was even possible to make egg-free brownies, let alone ones that were so good!! I halved the recipe, but kept the same chocolate amount as the original called for. I also threw in the walnuts, as well as a bit of chili powder. Needless to say, these brownies were all gone in less than 24 hours. (Much of that was my own doing, I must admit!) Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt Kaczorowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Scaled the recipe down and made a fourth of the original, minus the nuts. I was really surprised at how they turned out. I made mine in mini loaf pans, about 2.5"x5". They were very thick yummy brownies, but for me, I feel they're missing a little something. Maybe a tiny bit more salt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are wonderful for being eggless! They are definitely more "cakey" than "fudgy", but with a few measurement adjustments to the flour and baking powder would change that. I added a few "fun sized" Hersey bars from my daughter's Halloween candy and then a whole bar of Neufatchel (sp?) cheese to make them more like "cream cheese brownies" and they turned out GREAT! They are cakey but still qualify as more of a brownie and they didn't crumble but held together nicely. I only made these because I got an itch to bake at 9 pm and didn't have any eggs in the house! I will make these again when I feel like brownies even if I do have eggs! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing, I made these for the end of Semester 1 at Uni to say Merry Christmas, with a vegan in the class, so a vegan friendly recipe was essential, I just replaced the butter with vegan friendly spread and chocolate, and these brownies went down a treat with everyone from the tutors to the vegans. I would reccommend these brownies to anyone who for any reason cannot eat dairy or eggs. :) Well done to whoever devised it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these brownies last night, and I have to say that I was impressed. We are currently practicing lent, and I had a serious sweet tooth last night. I will say that I added about 1/2 cup of hershey's chocolate syrup to the mixture, just to give a bit more chocolate flavor. I ended up having to bake it almost 15 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. I'm not sure if that had something to do with the syrup. Anyway, they turned out a bit denser than a cake would, but not as dense as normal brownies. My husband loves them because they aren't "too" sweet, and he ate the half the pan last night! Next time, I will add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OH MY!!! Was very nervous about making a brownie without eggs, but I really cannot stand the smell and taste of baked goods as much anymore since these two senses have become more sensitive as I have gotten older, and I stumbled upon this recipe and decided why not?! SOOOO glad I did, they are terrific, not sure what they are like made true to the recipe, I took the advice of a few reviewers and decreased the baking powder to 1 tsp and added an extra TBS of cocoa powder and some whole milk to the recipe to soften up the batter just before pouring to my pan. Added 1/2 C. of chocolate chips, too and voila! Soft and chocolately brownie goodness!!! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise! Looks like a lot of steps but it's well worth the effort. We used the advice for less baking powder (only 1.5 tsps) and a little more flour up to a cup. Nice to know we can have a brownie if we're out of eggs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These are great! A wonderful and easy way to make brownies minus the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very very yummy! Moist delish! As far as those who said it was too much work...phish posh you must not have a member of your family who has food allergies because most good recipes do have a few steps. I won't change a thing and will keep this as a favorite. The only thing we did different was cook in 8x8 pan so we would have thicker brownies and doubled the cooking time. So good they only lasted 1 day. So worth the effort thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These really turned out well. I was pleasantly surprised. I may try to add applesauce next time to see if they come a bit more moist. But overall, I did not miss the eggs. They just tasted like a good low-fat brownie. I am not a fan of fudgy brownies so I loved the cake like texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States