Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
i am so thankful i found this recipe on here. i am out of eggs, long day, didn't want to run to the store. i will state i did not do the recipe to its exact specifications, because i had my chocolate and butter melted and ready for my usual recipe when i discovered...no eggs in the house. i added three big tablespoons applesauce because, with all the flour i was wondering how moist they'd be. mine turned out moist, still a bit on the cakey side, which i'm more a chewy brownie fan, but the recipe i think is a great basic recipe that comes in handy. it can easily be added to, and i will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I also have a child with allergies to nuts and eggs, and I was THRILLED to find a brownie recipe for him. Although I didn't follow the recipe from scratch (I followed others suggestions and added more cocoa, sugar and a bit of milk, since the batter is really thick), the recipe came out great! This is one of the better recipes for a dessert without eggs! Thank you! Thank you!!! Now my child doesn't have to feel excluded when it comes to dessert time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This excellent recipe's instructions must be followed to the "T". After trying it both ways, I join with other reviewers in highly recommending the addition of plenty of chocolate chips. I also recommend not trying to mix this without some sort of electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I was a little nervous at first trying this recipe because the first few directions reminded me of paper mache glue recipes, but these were amazing!! My daughters eczema acts up when she eats eggs I am always trying to find tasty treats for her, and this was a great find. Thank you for sharing it!! I did add some chocolate chips to the brownie but kept everything else the same and they came out excellent. You don't miss the eggs a bit with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I substituted the 1/2 cup margerine for 3/4 cup applesauce plus a couple of squirts of Hershey's fat free dark chocolate syrup - cut the fat out of the mix and brings calories down to about 141 each. This is also great heated in the microwave w/Hershey's fat free chocolate syrup drizzled over - tastes just like a chocolate overload dessert at a fancy restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I followed this recipe EXACTLY and unfortunately these brownies turned out to be AWFUL. The batter came out very thick making it hard to spread in the pan and did not smooth out while baking, leaving uneven ridges all over the surface. The final texture was cakey which would be ok for some people, but it was the taste that leaves this recipe deserving only one star. These "brownies" are very bland and with only 2/3 of a cup of cocoa there is hardly more than a hint of chocolate beyond the overwhelming flour taste. I even tried sprinkling powdered sugar on top for more sweetness but neither my husband nor myself took more than a few bites. I would not try this recipe again, and certainly not even consider sharing it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
even better with chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donnelly, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Redfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I make these all the time, and the rock. My variations are that instead of water, I use soymilk, and use vegan Earth Balance margarine-esque stuff. I also add nearly a full bag of tropical source chocolate chips. This makes these great, rich, fudgy, just perfect, and no one EVER guess that they're vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
These are excellent brownies! If you follow the recipe exactly, then you get first rate, honest to goodness brownies without a hint of eggs! These were a huge hit and I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This did not work out at all. We had to make cookies because the batter was way to thick. THis is missing an important ingrediant. Sorry but I would not want someone elsemaking the same mistake as me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States