Egg and Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I enjoyed this very much, and look forward to making it again sometime soon! Trying to stay "on plan" for New Year's resolution, I modified ingredients to better reflect goals: Reduced and low-fat cheeses, egg whites only. Took it to a brunch potluck, and had several requests for the recipe! One change I will make next time is to lessen butter by at least half, or possibly leave it out altogether, as others have mentioned. I literally was ladling butter off the top of the casserole at thee end. I also had put my dish on a cookie sheet to prevent any spillover, and I think it affected my cooking time, as I needed to add an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was excellent as is and can be easily modified. I sauteed the onions and substituted feta for some of the cottage cheese. It's like quiche without the crust. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe. I added 1 lb sausage and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
really great recipe! Easy to prepare and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made a few additions, but really loved this recipe. It was creamy and very flavorful. I sauteed my onion until soft in 1 Tbsp. butter then added some minced garlic, a small sprinkle of garlic powder and salt, and spinach until warmed. As I was beating my eggs with the flour, I added a few pinches of nutmeg. Besides that, I followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Excellent. I'm going to make it again this week. I love that it is healthy. I used eggbeaters and lactose free cheese. I obmited the butter and i was out of flour so i used corn starch! Everyone loves this. I also added some ground sasuage that I cooked seperate and drained. I used fresh spinach that i cooked and chopped. Just the best! This also freezes well for a quick breakfast. Reheats in the microwave excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orange Beach, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I added garlic and tomato. I didn't cottage cheese so I used cream cheese. I also added sausage. It was so good. Thanks for the template.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious! After reading all reviews, I made following changes: 4 eggs as I only made 1/2 recipe; used cheddar and pepper jack cheeses; and added about 1/2 tspn of seasonings. Made into 8x8 inch pan for about 35 minutes. Very easy and tasty. Kitchen smelled great while it was cooking. Very versitile recipe and can use many combinations as other reviewers suggested!!! Will definitely make again. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I sauteed the onions first, added two extra eggs, and substituted with some ricotta since I didn't have enough cottage cheese. I also added some garlic powder and left out the butter. This recipe is good enough to stand on its own, but easy to modify, too. I took it to a breakfast event and it was very quickly eaten. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States