Egg and Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was fantastic. I've made it twice now - both in a muffin pan for individual servings. I used 1/: the butter the second time and Monterey/cheddar mix cheese. The first time I used Swiss Guyere mix (which was SO good with the spinach). I think mix of cheese is up to preference. I also added a teaspoon of dried Thyme and no need for any extra salt. A fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this recipe with slight variations and gave it a "Cajun" twist. Everyone liked it! I did not have cottage cheese; so I used sour cream (10 ounces) instead. I also used a mixture of cheddar and Monterey Jack, about 8 ounces each. I omitted the onion and the butter, used 8 eggs instead of 6, used 1/3 cup flour, 16 ounces of spinach, and 1/2 tsp. dry mustard. Finally, I used K Paul's Poultry Magic (bottled seasoning) to taste. Note that this recipe (and other baked egg recipes that result in "flat" casseroles) make great leftovers. I keep the leftovers several days in the refrigerator, even a week, and use them in my panini maker for breakfast sandwiches. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lozeau
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Boyfriend LOVED it, as did I. He stated "Great for any meal". Agreed. I omitted butter - glad I did. Added mushrooms. Placed tomato pieces atop before baking. Did not put cheese into the casserole. Instead, I put cheese atop after baking 30 minutes - 15 minutes before done. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lozeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added more spinach and followed the advice of other reviews and added two more eggs. I also cut the cheese in half and used ricotta instead of cottage. It still turned out good. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipes has become an easy, go to for all occasions, dish. Our congregation has been using it for a fund raising brunch for years. I also change up the spinach for other vegetables and the cheddar for either goat or feta cheese. I saute the onions and veggies before mixing together and baking for extra taste. Easy, no fail recipe that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was really good. Added red peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I will definitely make this again. It's a great template as you can add whatever you have on hand. As per other reviewers, next time I will omit the butter to save on calories (even though it turned out fine with it). I did a half batch and cooked it in a muffin pan making 6 single serving size 'muffins'. I used sautéed green pepper, green onion, and onion for 4 of the 'muffins' and then added spinach to the remaining 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
LOVED it! We like spicy, so I added a small can of chopped green chilies, and served it with pico de gallo on top. Now my neighbors are asking for your recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I enjoyed this very much, and look forward to making it again sometime soon! Trying to stay "on plan" for New Year's resolution, I modified ingredients to better reflect goals: Reduced and low-fat cheeses, egg whites only. Took it to a brunch potluck, and had several requests for the recipe! One change I will make next time is to lessen butter by at least half, or possibly leave it out altogether, as others have mentioned. I literally was ladling butter off the top of the casserole at thee end. I also had put my dish on a cookie sheet to prevent any spillover, and I think it affected my cooking time, as I needed to add an extra 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was excellent as is and can be easily modified. I sauteed the onions and substituted feta for some of the cottage cheese. It's like quiche without the crust. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States