Egg and Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Had a bag of fresh spinach no longer quite salad ready to use up, 6 wedges Laughing Cow cheese coming up to their expiration date, a hunk of cheddar to shred, and the leftover heel of a ham. Diced it all up, mixed it in with the eggs, onion, flour, and 1/4 cup butter, and viola. What a tasty way to clean out the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My new go-to recipe for brunch. Took others' advice and used 8 eggs and left out the butter. I added 1/4 tsp. salt but will prob do 1/2 tsp. next time. Used a combo of cheddar, Swiss and grueyere. Creamy, easy and delicious. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great easy and delicious recipe! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Amazing. I did half the butter, left out the cottage cheese and used a two handfuls of fresh spinach instead and it was amazing. I also gave it a Parmesan crust, also amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunil M Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missdap
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
It was a very quick and simple recipe. Family approved. All of my guys loved it. I substituted pepper jack, olive oil and onion salt. I added some cubed ham. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This has become my go-to dish to bring to a brunch. I double the eggs, don't add butter, and keep all other amounts the same. I sometimes substitute Greek Yogurt for cottage cheese, and it comes out great. I've added other vegis (mushrooms were my most recent) - again, very good. If you're not a fan of cheddar, any cheese will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Not an onion lover, I substituted crispy bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was fantastic. I've made it twice now - both in a muffin pan for individual servings. I used 1/: the butter the second time and Monterey/cheddar mix cheese. The first time I used Swiss Guyere mix (which was SO good with the spinach). I think mix of cheese is up to preference. I also added a teaspoon of dried Thyme and no need for any extra salt. A fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this recipe with slight variations and gave it a "Cajun" twist. Everyone liked it! I did not have cottage cheese; so I used sour cream (10 ounces) instead. I also used a mixture of cheddar and Monterey Jack, about 8 ounces each. I omitted the onion and the butter, used 8 eggs instead of 6, used 1/3 cup flour, 16 ounces of spinach, and 1/2 tsp. dry mustard. Finally, I used K Paul's Poultry Magic (bottled seasoning) to taste. Note that this recipe (and other baked egg recipes that result in "flat" casseroles) make great leftovers. I keep the leftovers several days in the refrigerator, even a week, and use them in my panini maker for breakfast sandwiches. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lozeau
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Boyfriend LOVED it, as did I. He stated "Great for any meal". Agreed. I omitted butter - glad I did. Added mushrooms. Placed tomato pieces atop before baking. Did not put cheese into the casserole. Instead, I put cheese atop after baking 30 minutes - 15 minutes before done. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lozeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States