Egg and Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This has become my go-to dish to bring to a brunch. I double the eggs, don't add butter, and keep all other amounts the same. I sometimes substitute Greek Yogurt for cottage cheese, and it comes out great. I've added other vegis (mushrooms were my most recent) - again, very good. If you're not a fan of cheddar, any cheese will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Not an onion lover, I substituted crispy bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was fantastic. I've made it twice now - both in a muffin pan for individual servings. I used 1/: the butter the second time and Monterey/cheddar mix cheese. The first time I used Swiss Guyere mix (which was SO good with the spinach). I think mix of cheese is up to preference. I also added a teaspoon of dried Thyme and no need for any extra salt. A fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this recipe with slight variations and gave it a "Cajun" twist. Everyone liked it! I did not have cottage cheese; so I used sour cream (10 ounces) instead. I also used a mixture of cheddar and Monterey Jack, about 8 ounces each. I omitted the onion and the butter, used 8 eggs instead of 6, used 1/3 cup flour, 16 ounces of spinach, and 1/2 tsp. dry mustard. Finally, I used K Paul's Poultry Magic (bottled seasoning) to taste. Note that this recipe (and other baked egg recipes that result in "flat" casseroles) make great leftovers. I keep the leftovers several days in the refrigerator, even a week, and use them in my panini maker for breakfast sandwiches. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lozeau
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Boyfriend LOVED it, as did I. He stated "Great for any meal". Agreed. I omitted butter - glad I did. Added mushrooms. Placed tomato pieces atop before baking. Did not put cheese into the casserole. Instead, I put cheese atop after baking 30 minutes - 15 minutes before done. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lozeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added more spinach and followed the advice of other reviews and added two more eggs. I also cut the cheese in half and used ricotta instead of cottage. It still turned out good. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipes has become an easy, go to for all occasions, dish. Our congregation has been using it for a fund raising brunch for years. I also change up the spinach for other vegetables and the cheddar for either goat or feta cheese. I saute the onions and veggies before mixing together and baking for extra taste. Easy, no fail recipe that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was really good. Added red peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I will definitely make this again. It's a great template as you can add whatever you have on hand. As per other reviewers, next time I will omit the butter to save on calories (even though it turned out fine with it). I did a half batch and cooked it in a muffin pan making 6 single serving size 'muffins'. I used sautéed green pepper, green onion, and onion for 4 of the 'muffins' and then added spinach to the remaining 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
LOVED it! We like spicy, so I added a small can of chopped green chilies, and served it with pico de gallo on top. Now my neighbors are asking for your recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States