Egg and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have been looking for a good breakfast casserole for a while now, and this is the first one I tried and I loved it! I followed the modifications most other reviewers did and it came out absolutely perfect. I also used turkey sausage to make it a little more healthy. I added 3/4 cup milk and only used 1 cup of mozzarella and 1 cup of cheddar, as well as only a 1/2 tsp of italian seasoning (instead of oregano). I baked the crescent rolls first for 7 minutes on 350 and then added the sausage and egg mixture and baked for 25 minutes, then lowered the temp to 325 and baked another 20 minutes and the eggs were perfectly fluffy, with lightly golden crescent rolls on the bottom. Next time I will try some variations and add some veggies like spinach and artichokes! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It was ok, need a little more flavoring. From the recommendations of some of the reviews, I used sage sausage, italian seasonings, reduced cheese to 2 cups of Mexican blend cheese, 10 eggs and prebaked the croissant for 7 minutes. Next time I will try the Jimmy Dean Breakfast sausage, I think this would be better than the sage pork sausage which is too bland. I will use sharp cheddar cheese next time and not premake the croissant because it was a bit dry and brown too much or use baked croissants and cut it up and let the egg mixture soak overnight. It was still a big hit at work, but will try it different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Easy - Delicious - I followed the recipe and made a few changes as well. I added two more eggs and a 1/4 cup of milk. I made this for a staff breakfast and it was all gone within minutes! Lots of compliments!! The crescent roll bottom was perfect (I did prebake that based on other reviews - so while I browned the meat I had the crescent roll bottom cooking based on the directions for those). The cheese to egg ratio was perfect! I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made this for our guests using some amazing Vermont white cheddar. It was a huge hit. Great flavor and easy to make. Win win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very tasty. Have made this several times. I prefer a little less oregano, about 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I make this recipe pretty often and it's really simple and delicious. I'm leaving a review because so many reviews are people stating that they cook the crescent rolls on their own first. Don't do that! Make this recipe as written. The egg mixture with the crescent rolls turns into the most amazing texture after baking. I feel like if you bake the crescent roll layer on it's own first, you won't get the flavor that you will in the original recipe. Try this as written, it's wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair Meeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We made this casserole for Christmas morning breakfast and it was a big hit. We followed some of the recommendations in the reviews and up'd the number of eggs to10. We also included three quarters of cup of milk and pre-cooked the crescent rolls for about 10 minutes. We're making this casserole again for tomorrow morning's brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Delicious breakfast, popular on Christmas morning! Took much longer than stated to cook so I ended up covering it in foil once the top was browning and the inside was still not set. It took about 45 minutes to set, it came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
The only reason I'm writing what I did was because it was delish and I want to remember for next time!! I wish there was an option for adding notes without writing a review!! I followed the other reviews and used 10 eggs, 1/2 cup of skim milk, 1 cup of mozzarella, and a cup of extra sharp cheddar. I seasoned with 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning and salt & pepper. I forgot to bake the crust before adding the other ingredients, and the crust was crispy. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes, then reduced heat to 325 for another 15 minutes. I let it set for about 10 minutes before serving and the consistency was perfect. Next time I'll bake at 350 for 20 minutes then reduce to 325 for 20 minutes. I also might try butter flavored Pam instead of Original when spraying my baking dish and baking crust first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Big hit with the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States