Egg and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I made this for the first time for a work function and everyone loved it. I did make a few changes to the recipe after reading some of the other reviews. I preheated the oven at 350 and gave the cressiant roles about a 7 minute head start. I also increased the amount of eggs to a total of 10 and added 3/4 of a cup of milk. Also I used Italian Seasoning instead of Oregeno. I baked the casserole at 350 for 25 minutes and then lowered the temperature to 325 for the last 20 minutes and the eggs set perfectly. I will definitly make this again, but I might try sage sausage instead of the maple Jimmy Dean sausage that I used. Also I cut the cheese to a total of two cups instead of four and used a blend of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Really Good!! I made a few changes recomended by others. I used 10 eggs, 2 cups cheese (1 cheddar, 1 mozzarella), 3/4 cup milk and 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. I also pre-cooked the crescent crust and added red peppers to the sausage while it browned. There were not leftovers to take home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I have made this many, many times now for all kinds of events. I get asked for the recipe all the time. It does seem to need some extra time to cook (especially if it is refrigerated overnight before baking, like I do). One easy way I have found to determine if it is done is to bake it in a glass pan. When the cresent roll dough is no longer sticking all over the base of the pan and forms air pockets in between, it's done. ENJOY! You will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
The casserole turned out perfect. I used mild italian pork sausage with 10 eggs, 3/4 cup of milk, and only 1 cup each of cheese like others suggested, and thought that was the perfect combination. Any more cheese I think would be too much. Also, I think that its a good idea to bake the crescent roll for about 6-8 min first before putting in the egg mixture. Over all, this recipe was wonderful. My younger brother loved it, and he is a picky eater. I'm looking forward to making it for Thanksgiving and Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Made this for Christmas brunch 2004. I used: 1 pound crumbled bacon, 1 cup mozzarella cheese, 1 cup cheddar cheese, 1 cup milk, 10 eggs. I put the bacon right in to the milk and egg mixture. Gave the crescent rolls a 5 minute head start in oven before pouring mixture over them. I baked at 350 (had other things baking) for 40 minutes and it turned out absolutely PERFECT, LOOKED PHENOMINAL,TASTED DELICIOUS and was so easy. As others mentioned, adding other omlette ingredients could only make a great dish even greater. Thanks to all reviewers who helped me perfect this dish for my family! A TRUE KEEPER in the world of throw out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good and easy breakfast casserole. As others suggested I used 10 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, and reduced to 2 cups cheese plus a little extra to sprinkle on top. I did use the oregeno and I thought it was a surprisingly nice addition. Also pre baked the crescent base for 6 min at 350 added sausage/egg mixture and cooked at 325 for 30 min. This recipe will replace my old breakfast casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was absolutely one of the BEST breakfast casseroles I've ever had! I didn't have oregano...but I did have Italian Seasoning and I used it instead, and it flavored the casserole beautifully. I also added about 1 to 1 1/2 tsp of salt as well. Next time I might try sauteing a little green pepper and onion with the sausage and using Mexican Cheese Blend for a more southwestern flair. My co-workers thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This recipe is okay. Not anything to get excited about though. It lacks flavor. The crust is the best part...but, it's basically just a ton of cheese. The oregano is a bad attempt at adding flavor. The best egg/sausage casserole I've tried on All Recipes is http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sausage-Casserole/Detail.aspx. Check that one out instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was delicious and a hit with my guests! Numerous people asked for the recipe which is always a compliment. I followed the advice of other reviews and increased the eggs to 10, added 3/4 cup of milk, used bacon instead of sausage, reduced the cheese to 2 cups, used a 1/2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and a dash of salt and pepper. I also pre-heated the crust for approx. 10 minutes in my stoneware. It was so yummy! I'm making it again this week for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I made this for work. Everyone loved it! I fried the sausage the night before and the rest went together quickly in the morning. I also added 2/3 cup of milk. It helps make the eggs less dense. I think next time I will use 1 to 2 cups of milk though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States