Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, but you can take it to another level by increasing ingredients and cooking it in your crockpot over night. Increase potatoes to 32oz bag (cubed hashbrowns), 12 eggs, 3 cups shredded cheese, 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/2 cup chopped green pepper and 1 cup or more of ham, sausage, bacon, canadian bacon, any combination you want. Cook in your slow cooker for 10 to 12 hours. You can add just about anything to this recipe and it is done when you wake up in the morning. The Smart Crockpot cooks too hot, so if using this cooker, reduce cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Sandersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
We made this last weekend with a few modifications and other reviewers' suggestions. I browned the hash browns in some butter with the green onions, fresh garlic and cut-up bacon. I put this in the bottom of the pan and poured the egg mixture on top (added some Lawry's Seasoned Salt to the egg mixture, too). I also used Kraft Mexican cheese with peppers in place of the cheddar. It was fantastic - got rave reviews from my family - even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is my favorite "quickie" breakfast! I do change it up a bit. I add 1 cup of chopped spinach. I also take canned flaky biscuits and press them into muffin tins. Fill with the mixture and bake. When done, I let them cool, then package individually in quart freezer bags. Then I have breakfast muffins ready to go at a moments notice! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was great with my alterations taken from other reviewers. I sauteed the hashbrowns with the white of the green onion, fresh garlic, seasoned salt, salt, pepper and butter and put in the bottom of the pan. I used ham AND bacon and some dry mustard in with the egg, green onion and cheese mixture. Looked beautiful and tasted great - lots of flavor!! Made it this morning for Father's Day and my husband and children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNEYB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Glad that you are enjoying my recipe.Thanks for all reviews! Some of you are right this is a basic recipe...as it was meant to be. BUT, it is a starting point as all recipes are for you to tweak to your own taste. We (my family) as I was growing up used this, adding many variations to it. My father loved spicy & hot -- so he used hot sausage and bacon/ adding 1 cup of diced each red peppers and green peppers that he lightly sauted first. We also served it with mushrooms, spinach, water chestnuts and also added lots of ham. Get creative -- make it to suit yourself and your family. Sometimes I just like it the basic recipe eating it with crousants or toast, OJ and some kind of fresh fruit..I hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was pretty bland and dry. I made it again and browned the hash browns in butter with a little oil adding garlic salt and pepper. I put the hash browns on the bottom of the baking dish, combined the remaining ingredients adding salt and pepper to taste and then poured over the hash browns. It had more taste and using the hash browns as a 'crust' with the butter added seemed to really help with the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family loved this - especially my daughter who normally does not like "mixed" food. I modified it by cutting up the bacon in the frying pan with half an white onion chopped. I took out the onion and bacon but left in the grease and added a little more oil, browning the shredded hash browns until golden outside. I added about 8 slices of deli ham to the bowl and mixed together the onion, meats and browned potatoes, adding dried parsley and S&P. I also added dry mustard and about five shots of hot sauce to the egg mixture. I spread the potato/meat mixture in a greased casserole dish, spread cheese over this and then poured the egg mix over all. Baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees then turned off heat and left it in for another 5 minutes so it would stay tender. I put the little bit of leftovers in the fridge to heat for one more before-school breakfast. I also think this would work for the leftovers to be chopped up and heated, put in warm tortillas and topped with salsa and some more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This was a great dish. I made it for a Church Brunch. I doubled the recipe and needed to increase the cook time by 30-45 min. It turned out wonderful and people even asked for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This tasted really good! Just remember to mix in a few shakes of salt and pepper. Instead of bacon, I used about 1/3 lb. cooked lean sausage, so maybe with bacon you may not need as much salt. I also diced up about 1/2 c. total of red and orange peppers and mixed those in. Used 6 extra large eggs, and can't imagine using less because it was more potatoey than eggy! I didn't thaw my hashbrowns first so it took about an hour to cook, but it was worth the wait! We had it for dinner and I think I'll put it on my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This is an absolute wonderful recipe. I added well-drained frozen spinach, and frozen chopped broccoli that I thawed in hot water and patted dry. Because of the additional vegetables I added two more eggs and little more milk and it was perfect. I took it to a brunch and people walked up and said how great it was and asked for the recipe. This is a real keeper and thank you for sharing, Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States