Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Glad that you are enjoying my recipe.Thanks for all reviews! Some of you are right this is a basic recipe...as it was meant to be. BUT, it is a starting point as all recipes are for you to tweak to your own taste. We (my family) as I was growing up used this, adding many variations to it. My father loved spicy & hot -- so he used hot sausage and bacon/ adding 1 cup of diced each red peppers and green peppers that he lightly sauted first. We also served it with mushrooms, spinach, water chestnuts and also added lots of ham. Get creative -- make it to suit yourself and your family. Sometimes I just like it the basic recipe eating it with crousants or toast, OJ and some kind of fresh fruit..I hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
pretty good, will try to add some spices and more bacon next time to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was just okay for me - kind of dry and bland, even though I added a bit of sour cream, black pepper and used the southwestern style has browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I think I found the solution to anyone that thinks the hash brown bottom is too plain. I found and used the Ore Ida's cubed hash browns with green and red pepper in them. I fried these up beforehand with the green onions. Used Lawry's as well and really this gave the bottom a nice taste. It was a bit salty but nothing overly done. Good recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
We made this last weekend with a few modifications and other reviewers' suggestions. I browned the hash browns in some butter with the green onions, fresh garlic and cut-up bacon. I put this in the bottom of the pan and poured the egg mixture on top (added some Lawry's Seasoned Salt to the egg mixture, too). I also used Kraft Mexican cheese with peppers in place of the cheddar. It was fantastic - got rave reviews from my family - even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I loved this but best of all the kids loved this! I added a couple extra eggs, a little more milk and few more slices of bacon and made a 9X13 dish. I will try it next with sausage or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was good and simple. I made a few changes I mixed the cheese in with the hash browns and I added a few drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I love this recipe. I used more bacon and a little more cheese than called for. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was great with my alterations taken from other reviewers. I sauteed the hashbrowns with the white of the green onion, fresh garlic, seasoned salt, salt, pepper and butter and put in the bottom of the pan. I used ham AND bacon and some dry mustard in with the egg, green onion and cheese mixture. Looked beautiful and tasted great - lots of flavor!! Made it this morning for Father's Day and my husband and children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNEYB
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
It was a bland letdown. The potatoes need more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States