Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
We had some friends stay over and I served this along with the Apple-Rasin French Toast recipe on allrecipes. Because our guests are early risers I decided to make this recipe the night before and store it in the fridge. It seem to work out just fine. I added a tube of ground sausage to the recipe. I also added about a cup of sour cream as suggested by other reviewers. Some of the reviews indicated that the dish was bland so I also seasoned the thawed hash browns with about 2 teaspoons of Penzy's Cajun spice. I also used Onion Powder instead of onions because I'm not crazy about chopping onions. I also used a little more cheese than what was called for. I couldnt really taste that I had put in the cajun spice--but the dish wasn't bland either. I think I might add a little garlic powder, just to give it a little more zing. Overall a great and easy recipe and very adaptable to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Very, very good. I used a little seasoning salt and black pepper, but still needs a little kick of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Very good! Just made it for my husband and his friend and got rave reviews, and no leftovers! I was short one piece of bacon and an egg, and I used half an onion instead of the green onions, but it came out great. Thanks Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This one went over great. Got requests to make it again. I added a few extra eggs, some pepper, and a can of green chiles. Next time I'll probably add some Krazy Jane's mixed up salt. I also made it the night before and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to bake in the morning. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I have been using this receipe for years but I modify it just a tad. I use the bacon but I also use sausage to make it meatier. When I cook the sausage I add a can of rotel to it to add a little kick. I layer the bottom of the pan with the thawed hasbrowns and add a little salt and pepper. Then I pour the sausage over that. Pour some cheese, add the egg mixture and then sprinkle with bacon and cheese. It is a huge hit in the office. I usually have to cook it for about 15 minutes longer than on the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I made this for a mid-morning party I had. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. I thought it was a little dry and bland. I used the cut up potatoes an turkey bacon plus I added pepper. No onion (we don't care for it) Next time I'll maybe add an egg and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was so easy and made a lovely change for breakfast. Everyone liked it, so it's a 5 star recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I halved this recipe, but made some modifications. I used egg substitute (a little extra), reduced fat cheese (some sharp), added fresh parsley and seasoned pepper, added red bell pepper, and used ham lunch meat since I didn't have any bacon. This turned out to be great! My husband loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Made this for brunch and it disappeared! I would recommend adding a little pepper or other seasoning, I didn't find that it needed salt because I used ham. Some suggestions were adding a little hot sauce or salsa. It made enough for a small helping for 8, so if you are using it as a main dish it would not feed more than 4. I did need to cook it longer, after 30 minutes it was still very watery in the center. Overall a GREAT recipe, SO easy and tasty, will make it again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was pretty bland and dry. I made it again and browned the hash browns in butter with a little oil adding garlic salt and pepper. I put the hash browns on the bottom of the baking dish, combined the remaining ingredients adding salt and pepper to taste and then poured over the hash browns. It had more taste and using the hash browns as a 'crust' with the butter added seemed to really help with the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States