Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe, very versatile. I did take the suggestion of other reviewers and cooked my hashbrowns with the green onions in some of the bacon grease before layering them on the bottom of my casserole dish. I don't think we would have liked this at all if the hasbrowns weren't cooked first. I also jazzed this up with garlic, extra onions and various other seasonings. I will probably make this again, but maybe use ham next time instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Did not thaw hash browns and still came out PERFeCTLY...yummo..., added s little French fried onions in last few minutes instead of cheese on top. Just great for a quick dinner. Thanks for this basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Really good foundation for a hundred variations!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Mm..not sure how this got so many rave reviews...i think sausage may be better..maybe a little hot sauce or jelly on the side....thought this was pretty bland..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
YUM! this was quick and easy! as other reviewers suggested, i used an extra egg, and added some pepper and a little salt for seasoning. didn't have cheddar so i used a shredded italian blend. i was even a little short on hashbrowns and this still came out great. can't wait to try it again and change up the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karennn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Really good base recipe that you can play with (add sauteed veggies, substitute meat, etc). I did brown & season the hashbrowns first and add more eggs to the mix. My family really enjoyed this breakfast and we will have it Christmas morning with cinnamon buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this a couple of days ago and we LOVE it!! Now I want to try it with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made this last weekend for a charity event at our local homeless shelter. I substituted the bacon for ham and nearly doubled the amount called for. I also nearly doubled the eggs (per other reviews). I used regular onions verses green onions and lastly used a mexican blend of cheeses. I didn't get to try any but was told it turned out well and tasted good (my husband got a small piece to try when serving was done). I think I'll make it for my guys sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was truly a desperation dinner for me, as I realized I did not have 2 of the 6 ingredients! I subbed cottage cheese and a little water for the milk, and dried minced onion for the green onion. It still turned out great! I read the reviews ahead of time and added salt and pepper. I also didn't have a 7x11 pan so I used a 9x13 and baked for about 35 minutes. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This has become one of our favorites. Also good with browned sausage instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States