Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This one went over great. Got requests to make it again. I added a few extra eggs, some pepper, and a can of green chiles. Next time I'll probably add some Krazy Jane's mixed up salt. I also made it the night before and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to bake in the morning. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I have been using this receipe for years but I modify it just a tad. I use the bacon but I also use sausage to make it meatier. When I cook the sausage I add a can of rotel to it to add a little kick. I layer the bottom of the pan with the thawed hasbrowns and add a little salt and pepper. Then I pour the sausage over that. Pour some cheese, add the egg mixture and then sprinkle with bacon and cheese. It is a huge hit in the office. I usually have to cook it for about 15 minutes longer than on the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I made this for a mid-morning party I had. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. I thought it was a little dry and bland. I used the cut up potatoes an turkey bacon plus I added pepper. No onion (we don't care for it) Next time I'll maybe add an egg and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was so easy and made a lovely change for breakfast. Everyone liked it, so it's a 5 star recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay Mayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I halved this recipe, but made some modifications. I used egg substitute (a little extra), reduced fat cheese (some sharp), added fresh parsley and seasoned pepper, added red bell pepper, and used ham lunch meat since I didn't have any bacon. This turned out to be great! My husband loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Made this for brunch and it disappeared! I would recommend adding a little pepper or other seasoning, I didn't find that it needed salt because I used ham. Some suggestions were adding a little hot sauce or salsa. It made enough for a small helping for 8, so if you are using it as a main dish it would not feed more than 4. I did need to cook it longer, after 30 minutes it was still very watery in the center. Overall a GREAT recipe, SO easy and tasty, will make it again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was pretty bland and dry. I made it again and browned the hash browns in butter with a little oil adding garlic salt and pepper. I put the hash browns on the bottom of the baking dish, combined the remaining ingredients adding salt and pepper to taste and then poured over the hash browns. It had more taste and using the hash browns as a 'crust' with the butter added seemed to really help with the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
We used vidalia onions instead of the green onions and made a few other minor tweaks. This one turned out great, and will become a staple for holiday cooking. We also assembled it the night before and refrigerated overnight, which made it so easy in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I didn't have enough hash browns so I used one cup chopped yukon gold potatoes with 2 cups frozen hash browns (which I kept frozen). That worked surprisingly well. I also didn't have green onions so I used chives. Like other reviewers, I also think that this needs something else ... maybe red bell pepper. It reheats nicely so I was able to have a quick breakfast the next morning, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This was ok, I am going to adjust the recipe and try again. I will use about 1/2 the potatoes and more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States