Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was excellent! I did go over the reviews and proceeded with the little adjustments... Made sure to season the potato layer with some seasoning salt and melted butter in the roasting pan and pre-baked to crisp the hashbrowns before adding the egg mixture. There was so much hashbrowns for me to crisp them on the stove would've been super hard to do so I did it in a hot oven spread out in the large roasting pans and it browned nicely. I multiplied this for 32 eggs (two roasting pans) to feed a large crowd and I had many ask me for the recipe and go back for seconds and thirds... Please make sure you also season your eggs. I find that the cheese does add some saltiness but not enough so I used my extra accurate method of 2 salt shakes per egg (yes I counted out that many shakes lol) and it was perfect! Even my picky hubby loved it. We used bacon as the meat, that I cooked prior to adding to the top layer (instead of mixing in with the eggs) so it would show up nicely on the top. I reduced the amount of green onion(one bunch is maybe 1/2 cup split between the two pans) per our flavor preference and it worked out wonderfully. Baked very quickly once I added the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Loved this recipe! I did make a few changes. First, I cooked the hash browns for a bit and then layered the bottom of the pan with them. I did add one more egg and used 3/4 cup of milk. I then mixed the cooked bacon (cubed), cheese (Cheddar & Colby), green onions plus 1 tsp of salt, dash of pepper, oregano, garlic powder and dry mustard. Poured mixture over hash browns and baked for 20 mins. Added some more cheese on top and then let is bake some more for another 5 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NyxAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
5 stars because it is so easy! great to reheat for our busy household in the morning. I broiled it just a bit to brown up the cheese. I think when I have more time i would experiment with sausage and veggies. Thanks for recipe;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was very tasty. I added my own twist with red and green peppers and a mix of sharp cheddar and colby cheese. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe that you can make your own. It definitely needs some spices. I will probably try adding seasoned salt and/or dry mustard next time. I made mine with chopped green pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, green onion, pre-cooked bacon, and chicken sausage. I used sharp white and sharp yellow cheddar for the cheese. Sprinkled some hot sauce on it when I ate it and it was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious. Added one extra egg, salt and pepper, and baked for an extra 20 minutes until it was set. Sliced and served at a family brunch. My guests loved it, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is a really good breakfast casserole. As others suggested, I added several different spices to the egg mixture (chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper) which I really think adds to the overall flavor. I use fresh chopped potatoes rather than frozen, and have done it with both russet and red, both equally as good. I usually season and cook the potatoes on the skillet for a few minutes first, then layer them at the bottom of the dish, per the directions. I also use turkey bacon and add chopped turkey sausage in the mixture too to make it even heartier. It has turned out great every time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phillipM
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made this with a little twist. Turned out great. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
it was just okay. adding bell peppers, sausage, or ham might add more flavor. if your looking for something simple and filling then this recipes for you! UPDATE Hash browns pan fried first works better as a bottom layer for a crust. just fry hash browns in bacon drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
The hashbrowns were too spongy. Maybe it needed to be cooked longer or the hashbrowns cooked before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States