Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I was skeptical... I really was. I mean, the recipe only had 2 reviews and I usually like to try more "proven" ones. Plus I usually dislike cottage cheese in recipes. But this was AWESOME. I follow a basic low-carb way of eating, and this is great. I can't wait to see how they do with freezing and reheating- it'll give me a way to have a breakfast on the go. I can easily see replacing the bacon with diced ham or sausage crumbles. Everything else, I'd keep the same. My husband wants me to try making it without the green chiles, but they are so good if you are using salsa on top! One hint- USE paper muffin cups... even with a well greased muffin pan, the egginess doesn't allow them to come out easily. The paper cups would be the answer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These were fabulous (with a few modifications)! I did not mix these up the night before - I don't know what the advantage would be. This is a quick breakfast dish already. First, 1/4 cup of butter is all that is needed. Secondly, 2 cups of shredded cheddar/monterey jack cheese is a better amount. I can't imagine this with more cheese than that. I used diced ham and sprinkled some freeze dried chives on the tops before baking for extra flavor & color. A note on pans - for one tray, I used my Pampered Chef stoneware muffin pan (still sprayed with Pam) and they puffed up beautifully & came out perfect. My other pan, an old non-stick sprayed with Pam - didn't come out as puffy, or as easily. I will buy a 2nd stoneware pan now! Thanks for the yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These are great for an easy breakfast for company or yourself! They feeze great and can be thawed in the fridge overnight and just popped in the microwave for easy warming. They are so versitile and easy to make to your liking. I usually use ham to make it even easier and add whatever veggies and cheese I have on hand. Yummy....also the butter is NOT needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
No doubt this is worth 5 stars!!! The green chilis were what made it - don't leave them out. I will though make it a little less fattening next time by substituting ham for bacon, use fat free cottage cheese, and much less butter! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
OH MY GOODNESS! This rec. is easy to make and impressed those who sampled it! YUM! I preapred it for the first time this morning, and though I typically burn anything I bake/cook in muffin pans, these puffs cooked to perfection! I forgot to include the butter, but they still came out really nice -- an I suppose we saved ourselves needless calories and fat! :) The extra puffs are in my freezer ... I 'll have to let you know if they thawed/microwaved well as leftovers. Try this; you'll love it! And think of all the modifications you can make to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Delicious! I brought these to work and everyone asked for the recipe. They are like miniature crustless quiches. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awesome! Highly recommended recipe! I loved that it could be mixed up the night before. I didn't use as much cheese as called for, but used sharp cheddar for flavor. This would be great with sausage also. These reheat nicely in the microwave the next day. Thanks Karen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I have had this recipe for about 6 years and been using it. We love it, I just had to join to write a review. I take these to work sometimes and people mug me for them! Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe, though I consider it 'mine' now, hope you don't mind! LOL (;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I love this recipe! I added extra cheese and just a pinch of chopped onion to the milk and egg mix and it came out fabulous! I ate it with cold sour cream, just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Very good. Quick and easy. I too left out the butter and it wasn't missed. Also, I skipped the refrigerating overnight part. These are quite rich, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States