Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
We loved these! I made just half a batch (there are only 2 of us) and used lots of healthy options, like egg beaters, fat-free cottage cheese, fat free cheddar, no meat, no butter, no salt, whole wheat flour. I also had some fresh green chiles so I used those instead of canned, and I added sliced olives. They did stick a little to the muffin cups, even though I sprayed them, so I think next time I'd just bake them in the muffin pan so I could run the knife around the edge and not waste as much. I don't want to miss a bite! We had them for dinner, but we'll be having them for breakfast the rest of the week. Definitely a keeper recipe. Fast, easy, and best of all, TASTY! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Pretty good recipe. I did not use the green chile peppers but recplaced them with regular green peppers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made these in mini muffin cups for a baby shower and they were great! I followed it without changes and didn't think the butter made it too greasy and they came right out of the pan just great. Thanks for such a great entertaining idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great little recipe! I added some chopped green onion and a couple of shots of tabasco. I omitted the butter but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. They turned out beautifully - I got 32 instead of 24. Put them in the freezer. Take 2 out and microwave them. Scrape them into a tortilla, smush them up and toss in a spoonful of salsa. Breakfast to go - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is almost exactly like a recipe my mom has been making for years. It calls for a dozen eggs, not 10. Mixing it up and letting it sit is unnecessary, and a whole pound of bacon seems a little excessive. We just crumble some on top before baking. Delicious with spinach added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Substituted sour cream for cottage cheese and real bacon bits for the bacon since that's all I had, and I added onion. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I cut this in half to make twelve and cut the "crust" recipe down by another half to make six servings. I used "trim" cottage cheese. I made six with the crust and six without. I liked these because they were filling and low in fat/carbs. My kids liked them because they liked the handheld eggs. I'd like to make these again but I'd add some garlic, onion and probably red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Nice, a little salty (maybe it's the bacon I used). Will make again, but it is a little fiddlely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
What a great and easy breakfast that looked just like little baby quiches! I learned from everyone else and didn't use the paper but sprayed my non stick muffin pan and with a gentle swirl around the edge with a knife, they popped right out. I used good old New Jersey Taylor Ham instead of the bacon and for an Italian twist I made some using pepperoni, provolone cheese and topped them off with brushetta. Yum and thank you so much Karen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I pooled a couple of recipes to doctor this one. Basically I had some leftover seasoned, cooked ground lamb from the Gyroll recipe on this site; I used that for the meat in this recipe and I really think all the seasoning made this a very nice, savory breakfast food. I don't have the lamb on hand all the time, though, so I'm not sure what I would use the next time I would make this (we don't eat sausage or bacon). The downside was that the lamb made it extra-greasy. Overall good basic recipe, though - and who would've thought the cottage cheese would work - but it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States