Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Yes, I changed it up a little -- I used a 12oz package of center cut bacon -- which was plenty of bacon. Used 2 cups of reduced fat cheddar and fat free cottage cheese and halved the butter. I didn't have the chile peppers but sprinkled the tops with green onion -- they were really delicious. The only thing I wish I didn't do was use cupcake liners, half the puff sticks to the paper what a waste! Next time I would probably use canadian bacon to cut down on the cooking time and the fat/calories.***UPDATE*** Made these a second time, used Ham in place of the bacon, pepppers and onions and fat free cottage cheese, reduced the butter and used 2 cups of reduced fat cheddar -- NO CUPCAKE LINERS -- they popped right out of the pan -- and everyone said they liked these BETTER than the original ones -- great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are wonderful! I stuck to the recipe except I halved the melted butter, splitting the difference between the recipe and the reviews that suggested eliminating it altogether. I sprayed my muffin pan with Crisco butter flavored cooking spray and had no problem at all getting the puffs out of the pan. I think next time I will cook the bacon in the microwave since frying the bacon in the skillet was the messiest and most time consuming part of the process for me. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I will give this a 5, because I made changes that affected the outcome, so that is on me, not the recipe, and since this is the first time I made it, I cant really say it needed the changes. Okay, so my changes were - less of most everything except the eggs. I had 11 so I used them. I also used a baking mix that I made from this site so that made up extra butter flavor. I also added too much of the mix by accident. So they were more biscuity for this reason, so that was my bad. Not a bad flavor or texture, just different. I also made them green for the kids using food coloring, and omitted the chiles but added dried red pepper and onion pepper seasoning, and dried cilantro. The kids liked them. I will try them with less baking mix next time :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were great. I used Canadian bacon, because I could buy it precooked. The only thing I would say to someone who is about to make this for the first time is that you should grease the pan (as the recipe indicates) and not use muffin papers (like many reviewers did). The papers really stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were very good...as well they probably should be considering all of the fat in them. I actually felt a little guilty eating them considering there was 2 lbs of cheese, 1 lb of bacon, and 1/4 lb of butter in them! I followed the recipe exactly and didn't have too much trouble removing them from the pan...I just ran a knife around them first and pulled up gently. I'm assuming that the people that had a really hard time getting them out probably left out the butter which I'm sure would contribute to the sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These are quite good right out of the oven. I changed the recipe to suite my own tastes, which is why I didn't rate it 5 of 5 stars. I added about 2 cups of fresh spinach to the cooked bacon, along with about 1/2 cup of sauteed red onion. I did not add the butter, as previous readers suggested, and I used less than 1 pound of cheese, which was a mix of mild cheddar and colby jack. I also sprinkled in some paprika for color. Next time I would like to add more spices, use sausage instead of bacon, and add some other vegetables like sauteed tomato or zucchini. It's quite possible to make many variations of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieSuzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good base recipe! I halved the amounts (just 2 of us). I didn't have any green chilies, so I added about a cup of chopped and sauteed onion (with garlic). Added 2ish cups of chopped spinach. I baked them in silicone baking cups, sprayed with Pam first and they popped right out! So light and fluffy.. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stupidfa
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
its so easy yet so GOOD! we had it today for brunch and my BF just couldnt stop eating them. amazing recipe ! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stupidfa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I followed some of the other recommendations, and omitted the butter and cut the shredded cheese back to about 2 cups. I didn't have chilis, and I wanted more vegetables in mine, so I added a box of thawed chopped kale, and a bag of frozen corn, in addition to the bacon. I also used 12 eggs instead of 10. With those changes, my recipe made 31 puffs, which I'm happy about because they're delicious!!!! I put a dozen in the fridge and froze the rest, and both my husband and I will get many, many quick, portable, relatively healthy breakfasts out of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Have been making this recipe for years. It's the easiest, tasty puff ever. Great for brunches, buffets, potlucks. Instead of bacon I use sautéed, cut up breakfast sausage. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JozieLee

Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States